Day 11: Favorite Mech Anime

Oh, snap. I don’t know how in the world I am going to decide on this one. When I mentioned that picking my Favorite Male Anime Character Ever was hard, this is up there with that decision. Mostly because the mech genre is probably my favorite kind of anime genre. If there’s an anime out there with mechs in it, I’ve probably watched it. Now that does not mean that I’ve see them all. In fact! If you know of a mech anime that you think I may not have watched, then leave it in the comments and I’ll watch it. 

But back to the important stuff. I really had to go through all the mech anime that I have ever watched and pick ONE that is my favorite. Let me tell you, it was not easy. Having watched and loved so many mech anime, it was really hard to choose one to serve as my favorite in the Anime Challenge. But I did it.

So here it is!! My answer for Day 11 of the Anime Challenge!!! My Favorite Mech Anime is….

Mobile Suit Gundam Age

I know what you might be thinking. If Code Geass  is your Favorite Anime That You’ve Watched So Far, why is Mobile Suit Gundam Age your favorite mech anime? And I promise I have a reason. To me Code Geass was not really a mech show. I mean it had “Knightmares” and everything but they were just kind of there as a means to fight. It kind of felt like the creators just wanted a reason to have mechs in the show. And they did a good job! It’s just that I almost have a hierarchy with my favorite anime. Code Geass is at the top as my favorite anime ever and then below that are my favorite anime in different genres. Plus I think that Gundam Age kind of discussed the process of making a mech and what happens when they get fixed and so on. Flit, the main character, was all about developing the “Gundam” mech that has been in his family for years. The anime even covers two more generations of Flit’s family as they fight with and work on the Gundams.

Not that Code Geass and Gundam 00, two anime who were also being considered for this spot. I just felt like the creation of the mechs plays a large role in this story line and I feel like that is necessary as it is a mech anime. Although I would also like to add that if the anime Aldnoah.Zero keeps going the way that it’s going it may replace Gundam Age‘s spot on that list, but that’s still a ways away as that anime is planning for a 25 or so episode run. But for right now this is my decision on the topic.

That’s all I have for Day 11 of the Anime Challenge. What do you guys think? What is your favorite mech anime? Did you like Gundam Age or did you find yourself pissed off when Yurin appeared? (Flit and Emily were in love!!! Damn it!!!) Ignore that last part! Anyway no matter when you think, go ahead and leave it down in the comments below!!!

See you next time!!!!

One thought on “Day 11: Favorite Mech Anime

  1. tvdraco August 30, 2014 / 10:43 PM

    Don’t let any crows know or they’ll rough you up. Everyone knows crows love Macross. 😮

    Like

Leave a Reply

