Day 21: Favorite Goofy Anime Character

Today’s challenge was another one of those “Haha, okay I got this.” It really was for the simple reason that this character can make me laugh no matter how many times I go and watch them do something stupid. This character is the reason that I believe comic relief actually is not all that bad in anime. If the show is too serious then there needs to be a little humor to diffuse the tension. Plus who does not love a good laugh. Huh?

So here it is!! My answer for Day 21 of the Anime Challenge!! My Favorite Goofy Anime Character is…..

Youhei Sunohara

I picked Youhei Sunohara from Clannad and Clannad: After Story because this poor guy has to be the funny man in a show full of serious people. In a show that involves alcoholism, gang fights, and serious illnesses there needs to be some comedy to balance all that out. Which is mostly thanks to one of the other character beating up Sunohara. I mean there’s a whole episode (actually it’s multiple episodes) that involved Tomoyo beating him up as a hit total practically out of “Mortal Combat” or something. It’s pretty funny.

You also cannot feel sorry for him because he has gone through a lot. He was kicked off the soccer team and is living away from home. The poor guy. But the nice thing about Sunohara is that he isn’t always the funny man. If the time calls for him to be serious, then he’ll be serious. He and Tomoya in one episode beat up the soccer team (well fight them actually) because they were upsetting his little sister Mei. So he is a pretty well rounded character. Funny when he needs to be, and serious when the time calls for it.

My favorite scene though would have to be the first time he appears after graduating from high school. The place he went to work at does not allow him to dye his hair, a fact I didn’t even notice until that episode. So he keeps his hair its original shade, a dark brown. Everyone keeps asking who he is, because they can’t tell its him. I thought that was pretty funny. He is definitely my favorite goofy anime character. Plus his English voice actor, Greg Ayers, does such a good job with his voice that whenever I watch him in a serious role I just can’t help but laugh a little. To me he’s always gonna be Sunohara (well Sunohara and Kaoru from Ouran).

That’s all I have for Day 21 of the Anime Challenge!! What do you guys think? Who is your favorite goofy anime character? Do you find the goofiest? Let me know in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

Leave a Reply

