Is Binge Watching Bad?

So the chances of you all following me on Twitter is very slim. I say that because I have two twitter followers….but I digress. Anyway, on the slight chance that you do (or if you see the little twitter feed thing on my page) then you know that I am about to finish a day long binge of Tokyo Ghoul.

Here’s how my little adventure started.

So about a week ago I was scrolling through my tumblr page when one of the blogs that I follow had a picture of Kaneki from Tokyo Ghoul. When the show first premiered I had wanted to try it but figured I was too much of a wimp to be able to watch it. I had been going back and forth in my head debating on whether or not to watch it.

Then yesterday I got sick. I know what you’re thinking, “You’re sick, so what?” But being sick, if you think about it, gives you a lot of time when you are just sitting around watching TV anyway. So at about….six o’clock yesterday I decided to finally watch Tokyo Ghoul and it is way better than I expected it to be. I stayed up until two or so this morning watching the first ten episodes, but after that my sleep deprivation hit me so I forfeited and went to bed. That left me with two episodes to watch today before I finish season 1 and go on to whatever it is that season 2 is called. Part of me is happy that I am about to put a show I have always wanted to watch of my Finished List, but another part of me is a little worried that six of the last 24 hours of my life have been spent watching one show.

So that brings me to my point: Is Binge Watching Bad?

In my opinion, no. If you can finish a whole show in a day (like Tokyo Ghouls twelve episodes) then that just proves how good it is. If all of the episodes are out and you can watch them, then watch them. Just maybe space them out a little bit. Take a break. Eat, go to the bathroom, get another Mountain Dew to keep you going. Or write a blog about your experience. That’s what I do.

Sure maybe if I wasn’t sick this would not have happened…..maybe. But people binge watch shows all the time, anime or otherwise. The key to it is to not let it completely take over your life. That’s the life lesson I’m trying to get to I guess.

So my fellow binge watchers, continue on with your marathon. Just remember that breaks are nice to. And if the shows is more than just a dozen episodes long, maybe don’t marathon those back to back. A 50 episode anime could very easily take over a whole day for you.

That’s all I have for you guys. Let me know what you thing of binge watching a show, anime or otherwise. What shows have you guys marathoned? Let me know down in the comments!!

See you next time!!!

Leave a Reply

