Winter 2015 Wrap-Up

Before I begin I apologize for some of the possible spoilers that may result from this post. Let me just say that this anime season really hit me in the feels. I don’t really know why, I just ended up crying a lot after certain shows finished. I would also like to add that this Wrap-Up will also cover some shows that have carried over from the Fall 2015 season, those of which I could not fully “Wrap-Up” because they were not exactly over. So here is my Wrap-Up for the Winter 2015 Season.

Winter 2015

So compared to last season, I had double the amount of shows this time. I don’t know how the worked out for sure, it just did I guess. One thing I did notice though was that a lot of the shows that I watched were sequels of the shows that had previous seasons. (Or in Kuroko’s Basketball’s case, the third season.) Like I said before, most of these shows made me cry at least once before they ended. Some even caused me to cry before every episode before it was over. But I digress. Anyway, let’s get started.

Akatsuki no Yona

Okay, so in all honestly I’m pretty sure I was in love with this show. It was beautiful and the plot was definitely interesting. Yona was a very strong heroine who actually went through a lot of character development as the show went on. It was nice to see for a change. Hak has also earned himself on the list of my top male anime characters because he’s a bad-ass (sorry for the language). The four dragons were also very entertaining, as well as other characters who were brought up in the story. (The pirates were probably the best.) One thing I would have to complain about though is that *SPOILERS* they do not meet the fourth dragon until the very. last. episode. That’s right. When he comes into the story you’re like “Okay cool. Maybe this means there’s one more episode.” But no it just stops there. That’s really the only downside to the whole show that I had.

Aldnoah.Zero Season 2

Two words: “Fucking Slaine”. I don’t know if he should be called this or not but he almost fits the title of “antihero”. Anyway, the series features our resident jerk face, Slaine, attempting to climb the military ladder by deceiving people and being conniving. It also shows our beloved, unemotional protagonist Inaho who now appears with 20% more emotion. AND A FAKE EYE! But anyway it’s basically a continuation of what happened in the first season. We finally found out what happened to all of the characters, and got to see what state the world is in while we (as viewers) have been away. I liked the second season, despite Slaine and his shenanigans. It was also kind of frustrating that Princess Asseylum is unconscious because a lot of the central plot involves her younger sister posing as her. This sister, in all honesty, just makes the circumstances even worse. Overall though, this show was actually not that bad. At times it gave me a feeling in my stomach that I have only felt when I’m watching Code Geass. I enjoyed it and really miss it. It was emotional and the plot kept you invested.

Tokyo Ghoul Second Season

You know the show 24 where basically the whole show’s plot basically lasts for one day? Well that’s basically the whole second half of the second season of Tokyo Ghoul. It’s a constant battle that continues through over seven episodes. Needless to say, there is quite a lot going on. The ending of this season literally left me in tears. Having binge watched the entire first season so I could jump straight into the second season, my affection for these characters never faded. I think that’s why the ending upset me so much. And the ending….I swear to god if there is not a third season of this show (or at least a movie) I will be very angry. I have recently gotten into the manga of this show (because now I’m emotionally invested) and they have a lot of good plot that I think would be interesting. The second season just left me wanting any more.

Durarara!! x2 Shou

I have to say, this was probably one of the shows I was looking forward to the most. The light novel that the show is based off of has a plot that continues past this shows story, that like I said for Tokyo Ghoul it just left me wanting more. Thankfully, there is more show planned for us, so this isn’t the end for our story. This second season carried over the first season’s subtle comedy along with a very serious plot that kept me invested. Not to mention, the ending took me by so much surprise that I NEED to know what happens. One downside I would have to say is that there was not enough Masaomi in this season. I hate that he’s away from Mikado because these two characters play off one another really well. I also feel like Masaomi being around would have a lot of problems solved. I guess we’ll just have to see how the series continues past this season. Loved it though.

Kamisama Kiss

Okay so I’m going to start by saying that I unfortunately began to get a little uninterested in this show and its story. Back when I watched the first season it had already finished airing so I just watched it all at one time. I couldn’t lose interest because the whole story was there for me to watch. With this second season, it didn’t leave me craving the next episode. I mean the story was good but there was never enough going on at one time to keep me wanting the next episode. I think if I had watched it after it had finished airing I may have been more into it. I might have to try to re-watch it later. Tomoe and Nanami’s relationship also does not make much progress, which is also very frustrating. I don’t know. I’m going to have to re-watch it.

Kuroko’s Basketball Season 3

Okay so this is a continuation of my love of sports anime. This is the third season for this show, and actually it isn’t over yet. That’s right, this season will go into the Spring Season which is understandable seeing as how the first two seasons all had 25 episodes, and this one so far only has like….11. I’ll also tell you right now that Ryouta Kise is my favorite character in this entire series (other than Kuroko and his team of course) but I always find myself rooting for Kise and his Kaijo teammates. Anyway, we’ll see how this series continues.

Gundam Build Fighters Try

I really am unable to understand why I enjoyed this show so much. When I watched the prequel Gundam Build Fighters I openly disliked it. I think it was because the whole Reiji being from a different planet really threw me off. Anyway back to Try, I went into it thinking I was going to hate it and end up dropping it before the first half was over. But I was wrong. I got hooked and watched this show all the way to the end. I even found myself angry when the only glimpse we got of Sei was of him smiling and his hand. I really cannot explain it. This show literally had me on an emotional roller coaster as we followed our characters on this journey. One downside…all of the girls who had a crush on Sekai got a little annoying after a while. (I say that because I think he should have ended up with Fumina though.) I really enjoyed this show and am super excited to hear that there will be some OVAs to give us more story.

So that’s how I feel about the Winter 2015 Anime Season. It was an emotional roller coaster that caused me to cry on multiple occasions. I’m really happy with how this season went, and look forward so some of these shows maybe getting additional seasons. I want these stories to continue. I really am happy with the shows that I got to watch this time. I enjoyed it, and think it’s one of the best seasons that I’ve watched in a while.

That’s all I have for you guys today. How do you feel about the Winter 2015 Season? Did you enjoy the shows you watched? Anything you would like to add? Leave it down in the comments below!

See you next time!!

Leave a Reply

