Blue Exorcist Review

Hello again everyone!!

Here we are with start of Anniversary Review Week!! This is the first of eight reviews, and I cannot wait to get started! As mentioned before, I picked some of my favorite anime to review to help celebrate this week. And the anime that I picked today definitely has a spot on my favorites list.

Here is my 11th Anime Review and the kickoff to Anniversary Review Week!! A little show about our favorite son of Satan: Blue Exorcist

Blue Exorcist, or Ao no Exorcist which is the original Japanese title, premiered back in April of 2011 and consisted of 25 episodes, and has also had a movie released for the series called Blue Exorcist: The Movie that was released in 2012. The series only had one season, which is a little disappointing because I think that the story line that is going on currently in the manga is pretty disappointing. I do want to note though that while the earlier half of the show stayed close to the original manga works, the anime drifted away from the original works and had its own ending. Anyway, let’s move on.

The story of Blue Exorcist revolves around teenage Rin Okumura who is being raised by Father Shiro Fujimoto along with his twin brother, Yukio. Shiro works as an exorcist but at the time Rin just thought that it was his father getting rid of imaginary beings. He had not idea they were actually real. One day, after failing a job interview, Rin is attacked by a demon and is rushed home by his adoptive father in hopes of keeping him safe. Unfortunately, Satan, the strongest of all demons, possesses Shiro and ultimately kills Rin’s adopted father. Grief stricken, he pulls out the demon blade Kurikara and is surrounded by blue flames. Satan, still possessing Shiro, explains that Rin, and also Yukio, are his sons and that when Rin pulled Kurikara out of its scabbard he released his demon powers. Rin vows to use his new found powers to avenge Shiro and become an Exorcist. 

Rin later encounters Mephisto Pheles who agrees to help Rin become an Exorcist by helping him to enroll in the prestigious True Cross Academy. True Cross Academy turns out to be the branch of an organization that vows to protect the human world, Assiah, from the demon world, Gehenna. Rin joins the Exorcist course and we get to watch as he tries to become an Exorcist and fight with his knowledge of him being the son of Satan.

Rin is a pretty good main character. He starts off the show (mostly the first episode) as a really cocky, rebellious teenager who always seems to be getting in trouble for something. We do see him get to go through a lot of character development after Father Fujimoto dies. It really affected Rin and also brought to his attention an entire world that he knew nothing about. It was cool to see Rin deal with all of this and be able to help others along the way. He can be serious when he needs to be serious, and funny when he needs to be funny. He’s a brilliant character and is one of my favorite anime leads ever. Sure he is not the smartest, but he does not have to be a genius to kick butt!

Yukio is another character I’m going to talk about because he is also a very good character. He is Rin’s younger twin brother who does not express any demon powers like Rin does. The show starts off with having Yukio appear to just be the calmer of the twins and helps Rin when he gets hurt in fight. However, we find out that Yukio is actually an excellent Exorcist already and works as a teacher in the Exorcist course. He is viewed as a prodigy and well respected in the exorcist world. He is a good character to have beside Rin because he is the one who straightens out Rin when he is in trouble, and punishes him when he misbehaves. It is good to see how different the two of them are but despite this they still really care for one another.

Others characters in the show are other members of the Exorcist course, other Exorcists, and even more demons who are also children of Satan. They each have their own individual personality and back stories that helps develop them as individual characters and not just simple back ground characters. I would go into more detail on all of them but there are a good number of them and we would be here for quite a while. Most of theses characters have points in the story where they go through their own little character development. Like Shiemi finally leaving her house or Konekomaru dealing with Rin being the son of Satan. It was interesting to see all of these characters have their own personalities and change a little as the show went on. I could probably talk for days about all of the characters in this show because they are all so well written in my opinion.

The soundtrack for Blue Exorcist is actually one of my favorites as well. All of the openings and endings are beautiful and they all earned a spot on my iPod, which is pretty rare for a show. But what can you expect when you have bands like Uverworld and ROOKiEZ is PUNK’D singing them. They are all good and really help to set the theme for the show. They are mostly pretty upbeat with goes along perfect with the fast pace of the show. The animation too was very well done. It was done by A-1 Pictures who has released shows like Fairy Tail and Sword Art Online. It was pleasant to watch and even the fight scenes were well done. The show was not lacking in the animation department.

Blue Exorcist is one of my favorite shows of all time, and I’m not going to deny it. It had a good plot, animation, and soundtrack with a main character that you cannot help but root for. I binge watched it the fist time with the Japanese dub and liked it so much that I rewatched it when the English dub was released. I know some people are not huge fans of the English dubs but Blue Exorcist’s was well done.

So I reward Blue Exorcist with an A. It is a well done show that preforms well in every category. No show is perfect, but tho me Blue Exorcist is close to it. I highly recommend it to anyone who has not watched it yet. Go watch it!!

That’s all I have for this time. I think I chose a good show to help kick off the Anniversary Review Week and I cannot wait until tomorrow! So what do you guys think? Have you tried Blue Exorcist? Did you like it? Have you watched a show similar to this? Let me know down in the comments below!! And as always, if there is a show that you want me to review then leave that down below in the comments too!!

See you next time!!

5 thoughts on “Blue Exorcist Review

  1. sebbo12 July 15, 2015 / 10:58 AM

    Hiya. Great review.

    I actually only read the manga for this show, but gave up on that due to the inconsistent release datesand all that jazz but yeah, I liked the characters too and I thought that all the setting-building of the school and characters was good.
    I think I might watch the anime now – I’ve only heard good things about it too so I’m hoping for a decent ending since it has it’s own plot.

    Could you watch a film called Tekkonkinkreet and review it please? It’s an all time favourite of mine 😀 and I think you’ll enjoy it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sebbo12 July 15, 2015 / 11:04 AM

      I should add that it’s animated too haha

      Like

    • Ka-chan July 15, 2015 / 11:53 AM

      Thanks! Let me know what you think of the show after you watch it. And I will give that film a try!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

