Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion Review

I really could not have imagined how fast we got to this point. Here we are at the end of Anniversary Review Week!! I am SO happy with how this week has gone and I have enjoyed every second of it. I wanted to wrap up Anniversary Review Week with my FAVORITE anime of all time. It is the show that I compare a lot of other shows to. 

Here I am with my 18th Anime Review and Day 8 of Anniversary Review Week!! The review of my favorite anime of all time: Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion.

Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion first aired in October of 2006 and continued until July of 2007. It lasted for a total of 25 episodes and ended with probably the biggest cliffhanger I have ever witnessed in my entire life. It was granted a second season, Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2, in April of 2008 and ended in September of 2008. The second season also consisted of 25 episodes which brought the Code Geass Series to a total of 50 episodes.

The story centers around an alternate universe where the world is divided into three superpowers: Britannia, the Chinese Federation, and the European Union. The story begins after Britannia has taken over Japan with the use of the newest weapon: The Knightmare. Britannia has taken over Japan and strips its citizen of all of their rights and freedoms. They rename Japan “Area 11” and the Japanese “Elevens”. Our main character, Lelouch Lamperouge, is a banished Britannian prince who was sent to Japan as a bargaining chip along with this younger sister, Nunnally. Their mother had recently been murdered and the event caused Nunnally to lose her sight and ability to walk. Lelouch vows to his friend, Suzaku Kururugi, that he will one day obliterate Britannia. Seven years later, after a shocking turn of event, Lelouch encounters a strange woman named C.C.(They pronounce it “C two” in the anime.) who grants him “The Power of the King” or as it is usually called “Geass”. This powers allows Lelouch to command anyone to do anything he wants, no matter how they feel about it, through eye contact. The catch is that he can only use it on you one time. It does not work again. With his new power, Lelouch decides to do three things: find out who killed his mother, destroy Britannia, and create a world where Nunnally can live a happy life. He goes on to become the leader of a Japanese resistance organization called “The Black Knights” disguised as the masked man “Zero”. We then watch Lelouch as he fights the Britannians and tries to balance that with still appearing to live a normal life.

I’ve finally realized, after all the years that I have watched anime, that I enjoy it when shows have somewhat large character casts. I like a variety of characters that I can watch develop as the show goes on. Having a large cast of characters can either really help a show or really hurt it. I think the reason that I like Code Geass so much is because it has a large cast and each of them has something that is driving them to do what they do. They all have a reasoning and not all of them agree with one another. They have conflicts that are not only physical but mental as well. Anyway, let me move on to talking about the actual characters. Well a few of them.

Lelouch Lamperouge, or Lelouch vi Britannia, is our main protagonist for the show. Lelouch holds the spot as one of my favorite protagonists of all time because he was not a person who physically fought people. He uses his brain, and also some chess skills, to outsmart his opponents. Although he was the main character and a lot of the story was told through him, there were times when we had no idea what Lelouch was going to do. There were a lot of times that we did not see certain things coming. But he is not perfect. He can be a little crazy sometimes and has issues that he has to deal with. I mean if my mother was killed and my sister was handicapped from the same incident I would not be the same either. Lelouch definitely has some issues and that is something that I think is necessary as a main character. A main character should not be perfect and Lelouch is a good example of that. He has been through a lot in his life and that really shows in his character. It is something that I love about him. His love for Nunnally is what drives him to do what he is doing, and it is nice to see such a driven character. He does some pretty bad things and no matter how bad it seemed I had to keep reminding myself that he had a pure reason to be doing it. It was all for Nunnally.

Suzaku Kururugi is Lelouch’s best friend but also his arch-enemy. He is seen as the counter-balance to Lelouch. They are fighting for the same cause but are using two different methods to do it. Lelouch wants to fight Britannia from the outside while Suzaku wants to change Britannia from within. Lelouch is fighting with the Japanese and Suzaku is fighting with the Britannians. Suzaku was probably my FAVORITE character in the whole show. His father was the last Prime Minister of Japan and Suzaku joining the Britannian Army caused a lot of problems. He is hated by the Japanese and by some Britannians which leaves him on his own for a while. They both want to make the world a better place and want their dreams to be realized. Suzaku is very driven as well and the friendship/rivalry between him and Lelouch is what helped to make me write the story. I really enjoyed Suzaku and he is also a favorite of mine.

The finally character I want to talk about is C.C. because she is really what drives the story for the show. She is the one that just kind of appears and grants Lelouch the power of Geass. Well she does not actually just appear but it would take a long time to explain how the two met. C.C. is a mysterious character that we still do not know everything about when the story ends. It shows that Lelouch knows more about her than we do but not a lot of that information is shared with us. She is there to help Lelouch learn about his new power and to eat a lot of Pizza Hut. No really. Like the real Pizza Hut. She was a good character who fulfilled her purpose very well. She did what she was there to do, and sometimes a little bit more.

There are SO many characters in this show. You could take away ten of them and there would still be twenty more. Sure not all of them are fleshed out and discussed but the characters who play important roles are. There is the Black Knights, the Britannian Royal family, the Britannian Military, Students at the school Lelouch attends (Ashford Academy), and many….many….more. Each one of them plays an important role in the story in some way. Even the Ashford Students who some people believe to be unimportant plot were entertaining to me. They were there to lighten up the situation by just being regular kids. They were funny and helped to listen the mood when the plot was getting to intense. It was like a breath of fresh air. Sure I did not like very character. There were a select few that I hated (*cough* Nina), but there were also times when I liked the villains a little bit too. All of them were interesting and made the show as beautiful as it was. The characters really helped to carry the show.

The soundtrack for Code Geass is…awesome. The openings are upbeat and entertaining to listen to end, and the endings are good as well. They fit the show wonderfully and really helped to make the show for me. They all earned a spot on my iPod. Some of the OST music in the background was a little weird sometimes but it was by no means bad. It gave the show a certain uniqueness that I enjoyed. The animation…..well it was a mech show done by Sunrise so it was not missing in that area. The fight scenes were flawless and the entire thing looked beautiful. The character designs were done by CLAMP (yeah that CLAMP) which made me love the show even more. The character designs were unique as well and are what made Code Geass stand out for me. It did not look like a lot of shows out there. It was truly beautiful to watch and so well done!! I loved it!!

Code Geass is the show that I compare EVERYTHING to. Mostly any anime with mechs involved but I compare all kinds of different shows to it. I do this because Code Geass is a show that made me feel a lot of emotions when watching it. I talk about it quite often that this show left a hole in me after it ended. I recently read a post by a blogger that I follow who calls this feeling “The Void”. I give them all the credit for this idea and agree with it completely. It is the only way that I can describe how I felt when I ended. It is my favorite show because it took me to “The Void”. How can a show that made me feel so many emotions not be my favorite? I cried like a baby during the finale because it was so beautiful but so sad at the same time. To me this show is perfect in any way shape or for. Sure you could go through it and find problems but those do not matter to me. It is the show that made me fall in love with the mech genre and I could not be happier with that. Sure it was a show that really broke my heart when it ended but it was also one of the first anime that I ever watched. I actually hated it at first but fell in love as I watched more and more of it. It is a show that helped me fall in love with anime in general. It definitely holds a special place in my heart and the spot as my favorite anime of all time.

So this probably will not come as a surprise to you, but I award Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion with a A. I loved everything about this show and it the ending still affects me in a lot of ways. Nothing will ever change this for me. Ever. Even the English dub is one of my all time favorite dubs every. Some of my favorite voice actors star in it. It is amazing!! I recommend the show to anyone who asks me for an anime suggestion!! I would go watch it!! Go!! Now!!

Well my friends, that is it for my 18th Anime Review and Day 8 of Anniversary Review Week!! Anniversary Review Week is over and I hope that you enjoyed it as much as I did. I thought it would be a daunting task but it never seemed like that to me. I just want to thank everyone again who has stuck with me this entire time. But July is still Anniversary Month so there are some more fun blog shenanigans to happen before the month ends. I hope that you look forward to it as much as I am!! I really could not have asked for a better way to celebrate the 1st Anniversary and my birthday!!

So what do you guys think? What is your opinion of the past week? What is your favorite anime of all time? Why do you think that it is? Let me know down in the comments below!! And as always, if you have an anime that you would like me to try then leave that down below as well!!

See you next time!!

2 thoughts on “Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion Review

Leave a Reply

