Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun Review

Hi everyone I am back again!!

Remember when I said “As soon as things settle down the posts will start to come regularly again” well I have reached that point. Things at school have calmed down, for now anyway, and all of the posts that have been sitting in my draft box are being finalized and are being published. Yay!! Before I actually start the review I do have a little side note that I would like to add. I have been having some problems with posts not appearing in the reader. I had support check it out for me and it appears to just be some weird problem on my end. It just not allow me to see them in the reader anymore. I mentioned this because I am worried that if it is not in the reader on my end, then maybe it is not showing up on your end either. I do not want you all to think that I have fallen off the face of the earth, so if you have not gotten my last two posts “My First Week Back at College” and “What IS that?: Dullahan” please take the chance and make sure you are all getting them. It would stink if for some reason people are not getting the blog posts. I just wanted to mention that. I do send out the links on twitter every time that I post so you can always follow me on there as well. Anyway, let’s get down to business.

I am back with my 20th Anime Review!! I really cannot believe this is already my 20th review. I am both excited and a little disappointed in myself. The blog has been around for over a year and I only have done 20 reviews……anyway. So the show that I am reviewing this time is an anime that I actually started to read as a manga. I was really excited about the anime because the manga had been around for a while when the anime came out.

So here is my 20th Anime Review!! A show that is a favorite of mine in the romantic comedy genre: Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

Alrightly, so Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun (or My Little Monster if you translate it) premiered in October 2012 as a part of the Fall 2012 Anime Season, and ended in December of 2012. The show had a total of thirteen episodes and an OVA that was released in August of 2013. That brings us to a total of 14 episodes for Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

The plot of Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun revolves around the relationship between Shizuku Mizutani, a bookworm who is devoted to studying and her future, and Haru Yoshida,  who sits next to Shizuku but hardly ever comes to school. The story begins after Shizuku is asked by her home room teacher to deliver the schoolwork that Haru has missed. When they meet Haru immediately greats her as a friend and their relationship begins to grow as the series progresses. We also really get to see Haru and Shizuku grow and change their ways as the show goes on. It really is a cute little story.

Moving on to the characters. Shizuku Mizutani is basically just one of those people who only cares about school and studying. We all know one. I bet you just thought of one. I am starting to ramble! Moving on! Anyway so Shizuku basically gets into this whole mess just because the guy who sits next to her has been absent from school (actually he was suspended) and is asked by her teacher to take him the homework he has missed. She is something that I like to call a “victim of circumstance”. But she gets dragged into this whole thing, Haru telling her he loves her, gradually getting to know more people, and growing as a person, and she handles everything in a calm cool way that I have not seen in a lot of main characters. She is not easily flustered and takes life in stride. Despite appearing to not really care on the outside, she does care for her friends a lot and worries about a lot of things. As the show progresses, we really get to see Shizuku open up more as a person which is nice to see as a main characters. She’s funny and quirky and I like her as a main character.

Okay so Haru ranks on the list as one of my favorite love interests/male leads ever. In a lot of anime/manga whose stories were released the love interest for the female lead were these super popular, handsome smart, princely guy who the whole school was basically obsessed with. But Haru is not like that. In fact, his first few weeks of school he is not there because he got suspended for fighting. He has a very kind heart as in funny and entertaining. It is not a dull moment when Haru is around. He has gone through a lot in his life, but he still is always cheerful. He is so awkardly adorable and I love him. He is adorable and like I said is not anything like other male leads of his time. I love Haru and his relationship with Shizuku I like as well. They really help each other to grow as people.

The next character I want to talk about is Asako Natsume, Shizuku’s self-proclaimed best-friend. When I did the 30 Day Anime Challenge on the day that asked which anime character I am the most like. I answered Eru Chitanda from Hyouka but now that I think about it I am a lot like Natsume. She got bullied when she was younger and a lot of her interaction with other people is done online. After failing a test, she asks Shizuku to help her study and the bond grows from there. She cares for her friends very much and is very protective of them. She is also very awkward with boys, and is also very serious in certain situations. In all honesty, I liked the relationship that Natsume had with both Haru and Shizuku. Their interactions with each other were so funny and they played off of each other very well.

The final character that I want to talk about is Sohei Sasahara. He is often called Sasayan by everyone around him and that is basically what he is called all of the time. It got to the point where I forgot what his what his real name was. Sasayan is also in the same class as Haru and Shizuku. He plays baseball which means that I already like him a little bit. He attended middle school with Haru (which Haru skipped all three years) and Sasayan was worried that it would happen again in high school. Despite not playing too big of a role in the story, Sasayan is still a good supporting character that cares about all of his friends. The ensemble of the four main leads are probably one of my favorite group of friends. They play off of one another very well (I feel like I say that a lot) but they really do interact in a very fun, entertaining way.

Other characters include members of Haru and Shizuku’s family, other kids in their class at school, and some random people that they meet along the way. The entire cast of characters is really what helps to build the comedy side of the show, and definitely do a good job at that. Even simple interactions are funny. This show has a pretty good character cast that is fun to see on-screen.

The soundtrack for Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is pretty good. The opening is up-beat and is actually pretty catchy. The ending is pretty good too, but only the opening made its way onto my iPod. It was not bad by any means but it was not too over the top. The animation was done very good as well. There was nothing spectacular, but it did what was appropriate for the show. It was done by Brain’s Base which has released some of my favorite shows, Durarara!! and Baccano!. The animation was well done and like the soundtrack was not too over the top. It fit the show very well.

Alright, so in the end I award Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun with a B. The character cast was one of my favorite, and also has some of my top anime character in general in its cast. It is a good show that I would recommend to anyone asking for a romantic-comedy show to watch. Although I must say that most of the time it leans more towards comedy than romance, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I suggest that you watch it if you have some free time.

And that is all that I have for this time? What do you guys think? Do you love awkward characters? Do you like when a show has a little twist to it? Let me know down in the comments below!! And as always if there is a show that you think I should try feel free to leave that down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

7 thoughts on “Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun Review

    • Ka-chan September 11, 2015 / 8:47 AM

      Cool thank you!! I feel honored!!

      Like

  1. MadokaSwagica September 11, 2015 / 2:45 AM

    One of my favorites. So funny and cute. I just started the manga because an actual conclusion would be nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shiroyuni September 10, 2015 / 10:51 PM

    I have had that problem of posts not showing up in Reader as well. When that happens, I just tweak the post to draft mode and just repeatedly try until Reader gets it.

    Also, ‘only cares about school and studying’ –> kinda sounds like me, at this point. Lol. ><

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 10, 2015 / 11:49 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only ones who has had this problem. And I agree. My life lately had pretty much centered on school. It’s crazy. Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

