NaBloPoMo Day 1: Your Very First Manga

Okay so here is NaBloPoMo Day 1. I am super excited to get this thing underway. I realize that I legitimately just posted the announcement for the challenge but just in case you missed it you can go ahead and visit it here: NaBloPoMo: 30 Day Manga Challenge and there will eventually be a list of all of the days as we go. But you really do not have to worry about that right now.

The answer to today’s question was actually fairly easy for me. Because for someone as sentimental as me it is not easy to forget the first anime I have watched or the first manga that I ever read. I think that it is the best way to start off a Manga Challenge so let us get started.

Here is NaBloPoMo Day 1, the very first manga that I ever read was…..

Vampire Knight

“Vampire Knight” was the very first manga that I ever read or even bought. I actually remember that I bought it at Borders (God I miss that store) and the manga section was out in the middle of the store where everyone could see me and I was so nervous that I grabbed the first volume and then ran and bought it. I was 11 and it was my first manga so I was afraid someone from my school would see me and make fun of me. That fear gradually faded as I continued to buy more and more manga.

Since “Vampire Knight” was my first manga it also gave me a lot of first time experiences. The first time I was thrown off guard from a plot twist, my first manga crush, and the first character that continues to annoy me to this day. I am not going to lie to you, although it was my favorite manga for a long time it is not anymore. It is still near and dear to my heart but a few of the things that it put me through I just cannot forgive it for. Nevertheless, it still has some of my favorite manga characters and the memories that I have while reading it will never go away. My best friend and I would go whenever a new volume was released and each buy a copy. Then we would go home and read it but out loud while using different voices for all of the characters. It was always entertaining. I also thought I was cool because it was read right to left instead of left to right. I live a simple life guys. 

That is all that I am going to put for this time. I want to keep these kind of on the short side just because I can go on ranting for hours on end about manga, just like I can with anime. So that is all for Day 1!! What do you guys think? What was the first manga you ever read/bought? Did you buy it at a Borders? Do you miss Borders? I really do…anyway let me know down in the comments below!!

See you tomorrow!!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 1: Your Very First Manga

  1. renxkyoko November 1, 2015 / 4:37 PM

    I don’t remember what I first read, most probably Skip Beat, Claymore and Berserk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

