NaBloPoMo Day 6: Your Favorite Character

So today I am kind of sad. A manga that I really liked ended and the last few chapters made me really come to not like it. But you know what I already ranted about that on twitter so I am not going to do that now. 

Today is about my favorite character!! Which causes me to again rack my brain comparing my favorite characters from multiple manga and then seeing what characters I liked over other and so on. Why do you make me think manga challenge? Why do I have so many favorite characters? Why have I dug this hole for myself? Nevertheless, sometimes you just have to back away and ask yourself the question again. Instead of over thinking it this time I accepted the first person who popped into my head. And it did result in being one of my favorites.

Here is my answer for NaBloPoMo Day 6, My Favorite Characters is…..

Kou Mabuchi

Kou Mabuchi from “Ao Haru Ride” is my favorite character. He is the one who popped in my head after I asked myself who my favorite is. Let me be honest with all of you for a minute, okay? There were times when I hated Kou. There were times during the story of “Ao Haru Ride” when I did not agree with the things that he was doing. He started off as a jerk who did not treat Futaba (the heroine of the story) the best. No one wants their lead character to be put through hell, which is exactly what Kou kind of assisted with. However, my opinion of him started to change for the better as the story progressed. He has been through a lot in his life. Like a lot. Which kind of explains a lot of why Kou did what he did. As we gradually got to know what made Kou who he was, I came to love him more and more. Once he opened up he was funny and entertaining and I loved to see that side of Kou.

All in all, what made me love Kou as much as I do is because what he went through caused him to experience something I like to call “substantial character development”. Over the course of “Ao Haru Ride” Kou changed a lot. He was a different person at the end of the story than when he started. So what made Kou my favorite character is what makes a lot of my favorite character my favorites. It is not that he was a jerk or played the role of the main love interest. It was that Kou made a substantial change as the story progressed and it was for the better. Kou at the end of “Ao Haru Ride” made me want to be his friend and spend time with him. If he were real I would give him a huge and tell him “You did good”. Is that cheesy? Maybe. Oh well. Plus he is adorable. That is just and added thing though.

That is all that I have for today guys!! Although I had reasons I choose Kou as my favorite, it was still hard to pick one individual character as my favorite. But I did randomly and thankfully I had reasons to pick him. Hahaha. So what do you guys think? Who is your favorite manga character? Were they always your favorite? Let me know down in the comments below.

Also go check out the NaBloPoMo announcement post to see a full list of all of the day. Here it is: NaBloPoMo: 30 Day Manga Challenge

One thought on “NaBloPoMo Day 6: Your Favorite Character

Leave a Reply

