NaBloPoMo Day 21: A Manga That Deserves More Recognition

Hey guys!! So I forgot to mention yesterday, because I was halfway through two days full of babysitting, that I am officially off for Thanksgiving Break. Thank goodness! While doing NaBloPoMo every days has been fun, the blog has also been full of only NaBloPoMo for the past 20 days. I have a week off so I want to do some reviews and other stuff before I go back to school. You know because…variety. Yeah. I just wanted to make sure you guys were made away so that you may be looking forward to it. Yay!

So today’s answer involved a manga that I like that I think more people should read. It should really be more well known than it actually is. This is another one of those that involves me looking at all of the manga that I have read and if I think they are popular or not. So forgive me if I think the manga that I choose is actually well received and I am actually just out of the loop on rankings and stuff. 

So here is the answer for NaBloPoMo Day 21, a manga that I think deserves more recognition is…..

Please Save My Earth

9619

Yes, so my answer for today is “Please Save My Earth”. While doing research I found out that this manga was completed before I was even born. It finished in 1994 and I was born in 1996. That just seems like something interesting to me, and weird at the same time. I like this manga because I thought the story was interesting and I had never read anything like it before. The story basically is about these high school kids who all start having these weird dreams about people living on the moon. Come to find out all six of them, along with one elementary schooler named Rin, are reincarnations of the people they are dreaming about. They work together to piece together their different dreams to figure out what happened to them as well as try to save Rin from his own problems, and be able to live their own lives in the present. I think that is a pretty cool plot for a manga.

I will say there are a few things to warn you about that may affect why this manga is not very popular. First of all, it ended with a total of 138 chapters and there is a sequel story set a few years in the future. I read it over the summer a few years ago when I had nothing else to do so just to tell you there is a lot of reading to do, but it was worth it in my opinion. Second, it is an older manga so the artwork is a lot different. The early chapter are a little rough, in my opinion, but it does get better as the series goes on. Finally, the relationship between Alice (the main character) and Rin (the elementary school student) gets…..a little weird towards the end. In the sequel manga it talk about it a lot more but you really just have to keep an open mind when reading it because it took me a while to get used to.

I actually wrote a lot more than I planned on for today but I really think this manga should get more credit than it got. A lot of people I know have never heard this manga and I do encourage it, you know if you have enough time to read 138 chapters. Plus the sequel if you really like it. That has quite a lot of chapter as well though. I do highly suggest it though and I think it deserves some recognition.

That is all that I have for NaBloPoMo Day 21!! What do you guys think? What manga do you think deserves more recognition? Can you recommend any to me that you think more people should read? Let me know down in the comments below!!

Oh and here’s that link to a list of all of the day’s responses: NaBloPoMo: 30 Day Manga Challenge

See you next time!!

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 21: A Manga That Deserves More Recognition

  1. krystallina November 22, 2015 / 7:42 AM

    Please Save My Earth is one of my all-time favorites. It’s too bad the anime was just limited to those OVAs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan November 22, 2015 / 10:40 AM

      Agreed. It would have been nice to get a longer anime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

