2016 Winter Anime

Well my friends we are about two weeks into the new anime season!! Which of course means it is time for me to let you guys know what shows I am watching this anime season. I will let you know what shows I have started to watch this season and what is it that made me choose those shows. If there is one. Sometimes I pick random ones. This season I am watching a few sequels, shows that have continued on, and of course a lot of new shows!! Of course as I always mention there may be some shows added as the season goes on, which I will tell you all about at the end of the season in the wrap-up. Let’s get this thing started!

Here is my Winter 2015 Lineup:

Winter 2016.png

77977

Active Raid: Kidou Kyoushuushita Dai Hakkei

  • I am not completely sure what it was that attracted me to this show but I think the armored suits may have something to do with it. I found it interesting how it seems we are following the entire 8th unit instead of just one main central character, even if there is one that sticks out the most. I liked how in the first episode already we got a glimpse of who could be our main villain. To me it makes it more interesting to know who the villain is before the characters do because then it is just a waiting game to see when he will start to interact with the main cast. Speaking of which, I like the characters so far as well (aside from the random English sentences our “main lead” Asami randomly speaks) and I believe if the show plays its cards right it could do really well.

77834

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime Season 2

  • One of the three shows I was looking forward to the most this season. When the first season ended I was upset because the manga it is based off of started a very interesting story arc right where the anime ended and I was like “NO! The story would be so good!”. Then I found out it was getting a sequel and everything was okay. Hahaha. The show really jumped right into the main story line and I love that! I am super excited about this show and cannot wait to see more of it!

77838

Durarara!!x2 Ketsu

  • The second of the three shows that I was looking the most forward to. It is also the final installment of the second season of Durarara!! There has been so much buildup up to this point and I am super pumped for it. The first two episode gave off that humor/serious tone that has made this series one of my all time favorites. I cannot wait to see how it end and the path it will take up through to get there. I can bet you right now that I will probably cry when it ends, and probably a few times before then. I am so excited for this show!

77835

Haruchika: Haruta to Chika wa Seishun Suru

  • I thought this show looked good because, well, my inner band kid was like “WATCH IT” and I decided to listen to my inner band kind instead of tuning her out like I did when Sound! Euphonium came out last year. The show is pretty good so far, and I find the school band idea mixed in with a little mystery in every episode to be kind of fun. The first two episodes had their own flair because each one had its own little plot surrounding these “puzzles” they solve. It probably would have annoyed me a little bit if these puzzles did not relate back to the main characters goal of recruiting new members to the club, but so far it has done a good job of connecting the smaller plot points back to the major plot. This is another one that could go a lot of different ways and it will definitely interesting to see how it goes.

77974

Norn9: Norn+Nonet

  • This is one of those shows that just caught my eye and I knew I had to try. The story sounded interesting when I read a synopsis a few weeks ago so I put it on a list of shows that I wanted to watch this season. The first two episodes seemed really interesting and with a somewhat large cast of characters I think that the relationships it could develop could be very interesting and fun to watch. One side note though, I read the synopsis one more time before I wrote this and realized something….well something interesting. It mentions that the story tells about a young boy who ends of on the “ship” our characters live on and how this young boy gets to know the people who live on the ship. Why is that interesting? Well because there have been two episodes released already and this boy has only appeared in the preview for next weeks episode. I just thought it was interesting that this supposedly “young boy” who ends up on this ship and is a part of the series description will not appear until the third episode. Wait. Is that a spoiler? I am sorry. I just had to rant about it. I am looking forward to see how this show is going to proceed.

77842

Prince of Stride: Alternative

  • If there was one show that I was looking forward to watching THE most this season, it would be this little show right here. Why, you ask? The answer is actually simple. It is a sports anime. I know that seems like a dumb reason but I am just being honest with you all. I love sports anime. This is one. So I am going to watch it. Other than that, I saw a preview for it a month or so ago and it really grabbed my attention. I am still not completely sure what “Stride” actually is but it seems interesting. The characters are funny and interesting and I seriously cannot wait to see how this show progresses. I am loving it so far!

77907

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo

  • My final show of the season. I watched this one kind of at random and was instantly drawn in. Granted I had no idea what “Rakugo” is, and am still not 100% sure, but I feel like that is okay. The characters are really carrying this show for me so far and there is just something about the story that is being told that makes it interesting to me. I like how it is telling us the story of how Yakumo came to be a famous performer and we get to follow Yotaro as he struggles to deal with becoming a great performer. I like the characters and the general idea of the show. It should be interesting.

There are the shows that I have decided to watch for the Winter 2016 Anime Season. I am watching these shows along with the two shows that have continued on from the Fall 2015 Season, Haikyuu!! and Iron-Blooded Orphans. As previously mentioned, I may add a show or two as the season goes on or even drop a show. Make sure that you stayed tuned at the end of the season for the Wrap-Up where I will discuss all the shows that I watched this season and discuss slightly what I thought of them. 

And that is all that I have for now!! What about you guys? What shows are you watching this season? Let me know down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

 

4 thoughts on “2016 Winter Anime

  1. Magnitude Reviews February 15, 2016 / 10:50 AM

    Since you are a band kid, I have a feeling that you might really enjoy an older anime called “Nodame Cantabile”.

    As for my personal favorites from this season, I would have to go with Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, Erased, Grimgar, KonoSuba, Iron-Blooded Orphans, and Osomatsu-san as my favorite shows from this season & Fall leftovers.

    Like

  2. falahime January 24, 2016 / 7:01 PM

    I’m excited we’re watching a lot of the same shows. Then we can compare at the end of the season. 🙂
    That is interesting about that Norn9 factoid. I’ll have to watch it with a more discerning eye now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hlmwilki January 21, 2016 / 7:11 PM

    I had a quick look at the new animes out now and watch either 1 or 2 episodes of some of them depending on how many were out now. The ones I’m most interested and will watch are: Ansatsu Kyoushitsu (2nd season, just awesome), Prince of Stride (I love sport animes too!), Ajin (am really curious about this one), Divine Gate (like the deep emotions and realism portrayed in the anime so far and plus it’s pretty cool, and themes of heaven and hell dimensions), Reikenzan: Hoshikuzu-tachi no Utage (this is a comedy about this special boy who is destined to become an incredible sage, I like this one especially because I like themes of spirituality). These are the ones that I’m interested.
    Active Raid might be another I get into, your post persuaded me on that one. And I’m not sold on Hai to Gensou no Grimgar but I’ll watch it to see how it unfolds (that one is where some people find themselves in a video game like world but everything is real).
    Did you come across these animes as well or were you not interested in them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan January 22, 2016 / 10:12 PM

      Actually, out of the ones you have mentioned the only ones that I heard of are Active Raid and Prince of Stride, because I’m watching them and Ajin, which I heard about but have not yet given it a try. I will definitely check out the others that you mentioned because they definitely sound interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

