Top 5 Anime Couples

Hello all!! Happy Valentine’s Day!! I was really debating what topic to do today in celebration of Valentine’s Day and it was a mix between an anime couples list or a list of anime characters I would go on a date with. I chose couples because the guys I would date list would probably be way too long for one post. Nevertheless, I decided to choose just five of my favorite anime couples. These five couples feature two characters that I like even when they are not together and are couples that I believe set “Relationship Goals”. Some of these couples may not actually be couples yet but I still think they would get together eventually (at least I hope so).

Let’s get this thing started, shall we? Here are my Top 5 Anime Couples.

tumblr_niqngeun2k1u55xnmo5_1280
I don’t really know why I chose this picture….oh well.

*WARNING: THERE MAY BE SPOILERS SURROUNDING SOME COUPLES*

5. Natsu Dragneel & Lucy Heartfilia (Fairy Tail)

Natsu and Lucy.png

Okay so this is basically that one relationship I was talking about that is STILL not officially canon. Natsu and Lucy’s relationship is one that I think is something truly magical and if they became a couple not a whole lot would really change between them. I feel like it has been hinted at quite a bit over the course of the series, and it is high time for Hiro Mashima to just tell us whether they are going to become a thing or not. If this series ends and I still do not know I will be angry because I really do ship these two and they are probably my OTP right now. These two have really been through a lot together and are always there for one another when needed. It is  truly beautiful relationship. The only reason they are not higher on the list is because this couple is not canon yet.

4.  Risa Koizumi & Atsushi Otani (Lovely Complex)

hqdefault

One of the first romantic comedy anime that I ever watched was Lovely Complex. It still puts a smile on my face and the relationship between these two is absolutely hilarious. Have you every had two friends who make fun of each other all of the time and you know that they do it because they like each other, but the two of them try to tell you otherwise. Well that is basically the relationship between Risa and Atsushi. I love both of them individually and think that I would still love them even if they did not get together. Thankfully it is not something I have to worry about. These two helped me to love romantic comedy anime, and set a pretty high standard for the anime that I watched afterwards.

3. Tomoya Okazaki & Nagisa Furukawa (Clannad & Clannad: After Story)

tomoya and nagisa

In my opinion, I would not be able to make this list without putting Tomoya and Nagisa on it somewhere. It was really close between these two and the couples at the number 2 and number 1 spot, so there is not too much of a difference between the top 3 on this list. I put them on it because the relationship between these two made me smile and cry all in one episode. They are so cute together and their relationship really changed both of them for the better. The two of them have been through a lot and I just enjoyed this couple so much. 

2. Zen Wistaria & Shirayuki (Akagami no Shirayuki-hime)

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_2qr8th29ascggsg4gck80osoo_640

Two of my favorite characters from 2015 (and continuing into 2016, haha) of course land a spot on my top couples list. I love their relationship because while they do rely on each other, they also see it is important to be able to function on their own. The two of them see it as important to not rely on each other for everything, but still be their if the other person needs them. Watching their relationship develop brings a smile on my face and I cannot wait to see what happens to them. I just love how they rely on each other but do not at the same time because that is not something that you see all of the time. Sometimes the two become so reliant on each other to the extreme and cannot function without each other, which could annoying at times. That is not something you have to worry about with these two and it just makes me love this couple so much more.

1. Shouta Kazehaya & Sawako Kuronuma (Kimi ni Todoke)

kazehaya-sawako-kimi-ni-todoke-27672392-1280-720

YES!! This adorable little relationship has earned its spot as number 1. Shouta and Sawako are absolutely two of the most precious and adorable anime characters that I have ever seen. When they officially become a couple, at the end of the second season, it was as if two of my closest friends had gotten into a relationship. I just feel so happy about this little couple right here, and the fact that they are both working so hard for their relationship is absolutely adorable. The two of them are working hard to treasure their relationship and that just makes it all the more precious. Becoming a couple was not easy for the two of them, but they got through their problems and are making it work. I love these two characters and having them as a couple just makes me even happier. Watching them interact just puts a smile on my face.

That is my list of Top 5 Anime Couples and my celebratory Valentine’s Day post, even if it did come a day late. I was planning on posting it yesterday but then some stuff happened and it got delayed, which I feel like has been the story of my life here lately. Oh well, what can you do?

That is all for me this time guys. What do you guys think? What anime couple is your favorite? Let me know down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

8d8

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Anime Couples

    • Ka-chan April 2, 2016 / 10:54 AM

      I have seen it! I thought that it was a good anime. Mei and Yamato were definitely contenders for the top 5 as well.

      Like

  1. Matthew March 10, 2016 / 3:06 PM

    I agree that Tomoya and Nagisa on this list. They make an excellent couple πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katrinasade February 16, 2016 / 8:12 PM

    I should say second to be fair. Nothing beats Mamoru and Usagi πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. katrinasade February 16, 2016 / 8:08 PM

    I love Tomoya and Nagisa so much ❀ ❀ ❀ I think they'll always be my favorite couple ever!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. LitaKino February 16, 2016 / 4:17 PM

    What a splendid list I haven’t seen lovely complex I feel ashamed but I’m sure I’ll love the couple anyway πŸ™‚ awesome list πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan February 16, 2016 / 4:45 PM

      Thank you :). You should definitely give it a try. It is pretty entertaining.

      Like

  5. Rocco B February 15, 2016 / 10:25 PM

    But in all honesty though. Even as a late comer to the series. I highly doubt any of the couples will be cannon for that matter – look how long the series has been on going and still no resolution. If I have to say which one will be more likely to be resolved; Jerza. As episode 154 showed (which ever chapter in the manga) they came pretty close to kissing – not to mention the biggest tease to the fans, then swerve the whole thing. Hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan February 15, 2016 / 11:09 PM

      I think that the whole series has really just been a huge tease for us fans, and that is honestly a little frustrating. It would be really nice if all of the possible couples are together be the time it wraps up, but you are right that it is highly likely nothing will be canon when Fairy Tail ends. I guess no matter what the outcome we will have to accept it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rocco B February 16, 2016 / 11:27 AM

        I can understand for the long standing fans of the series, it can be frustrating. Being heavily invested, emotionally in it, then to see nothing come out it. Hopefully there will be a resolution, even if its just for one.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Rocco B February 15, 2016 / 10:13 PM

    Well everyone is shipping NaLu (Natsu and Lucy). But what about Gravia (Juvia and Gray) as they are living together in the manga during the avatar / alvarez empire arc, apparently. Or Jerza (Jellal and Erza). Those two seriously need to find some resolution to their relationship as they have the hots for each other, like really bad. The tension is damn thick when you see them on screen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan February 15, 2016 / 11:02 PM

      I would be happy if NaLu, Gravia, and Jerza are all resolved sooner rather than later. I just put NaLu on the list because out of all three relationships they are my favorite. I am a huge support of all of them just getting their act together and acting on their feelings, especially Jerza because of how obvious it is. I am just partial to Natsu and Lucy.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. josefcd904 February 15, 2016 / 5:49 PM

    I have only seen the number 5 spot and the number 2 spot. I agree with both. i will be a little disappointed if Fairy Tail ends with no acknowledgement with Natsu and Lucy. As for the number 2 spot, yeah I agree with you. They work well together, but at the same time when they are apart in the anime, it just does not seem right and is actually boring in my opinion. But I guess that just means the two work better together than apart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan February 15, 2016 / 10:54 PM

      I definitely agree. They work a lot better when they are together but can also handle themselves when they were apart. I would rather them have to not be apart though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

