2016 Spring Anime

The Spring 2016 anime season has begun, which means that it is time for me to let you guys know what shows I am going to be watching during this season. I was actually a little unsure about what shows I was going to watch this season, but I did find some to watch to no need to worry guys. Anyway, as I always mention I will let you guys know what shows I am going to watch this season and why they peaked my interest. This list is not set in stone and I may either pick up some more shows or drop some as the season goes on. You can always find out what I think of these shows after they have finished in my season wrap-up. So let’s get this thing started.

Spring 2016

78745

Boku no Hero Academia

  • I started this show on a recommendation and boy am I happy that I did! The show was definitely interesting and had me hooked from the beginning, but I do have to say that what really hooked me was the scene where our main character Izuku is crying because he may never get a Quirk and I cried a little bit. The show is really good and I am definitely invested and cannot wait to see what is coming next. I am going to stay away from the manga for this one so that I am surprised when anything happens (which I know is probably going to be a little difficult for myself).

79409

Bungou Stray Dogs

  • Probably the show that I was THE most excited for this season. I saw a preview of it a while back and was like “Oh yeah! I have to watch this show for sure.” It has just the right mix of subtle humor and seriousness that I love in an anime. The fact that it also has some famous authors as the namesakes and inspirations makes it oh so much better for me. Not to mention that the animation is absolutely beautiful. It may not be for everyone, but for me this show is one fo the ones I am most excited for this season.

78879

Flying Witch

  • I saw this show and thought that it sounded really cute so I decided to try it. The first episode was kind of slow and not a whole lot happened but it was still very fun to watch. Also! Did anyone else fangirl a little bit when she caught the Mandrake? I did because I instantly went into “Harry Potter Fan Mode” even though it was really not a huge deal. I also noticed a slight resemblance between Makoto, the main character, and Miho Azuki from Bakuman. Which is also unrelated, I was just amused I guess. Anyway, I certainly hope that the show picks up at least a little bit because I do believe that it has a lot of potential.

77523

Joker Game

  • This show grabbed my attention because it is a historical anime, something that I love oh so much. The whole concept of spies during World War II I also find REALLY interesting so I feel like this anime is right up my ally. There are a good amount of characters in the show who’s names I cannot remember because we are two episodes in and have only really focused on Sakuma, Miyoshi, and Old Man Yuuki (I can’t remember his official title right now). I also like the concept of introducing the Joker Game and I do not really know exactly what it is about this show that I like, I just like it. Plus the opening is really cool

79164

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

  • All aboard the hype train. Hahaha. Get it? Hype….Trains….I thought it was funny. I have to say though that all of the “Attack on Trains” and other jokes about this show are absolutely hilarious. Just saying. Anyway, I do actually like this show a lot. Sure it is similar to Attack on Titan but I do not think that is necessarily a bad thing. It has its similarities but is also very different at the same time. I was not going to watch this show originally and finally gave in because I reminded myself of how I decided to skip Attack on Titan when it aired and did not watch it for another year. If this show does end of being the next Attack on Titan I am not going to miss it (I said “if it does” but that is only my opinion). I do like the whole kabune (zombie) idea because they actually think and are not just wondering about. There is actually a threat from these creatures. They took over a train for crying out loud! The main character is also interesting, even if I did want to slap him for luring in that kabune and then getting bitten (Really dude?), but this is definitely a show I am going to watch closely this season.

78466

Kiznaiver

  • One of the other shows I am really excited about this season! I like the whole seven deadly sins with a modern Japanese twist, and that they all have to share their pain. It is one of those shows about how to create a perfect society where not one person is forced to suffer a large amount of pain, but the pain is divided equally among the people. So we have the eight main character who represent the seven deadly sins. There is only one episode out as I write this so we do not know much more than that. I do think that this will be a very good show as well. And I know I have said this about a lot of shows this season but….That opening though!!

79665

Kyoukai no Rinne 2nd Season

  • The only sequel that I am going to watch this season. I really liked the first season of Kyoukai no Rinne and was really happy that there was going to be a second season made. The show is not too over the top or complicated, but it is very entertaining to me and I love the main characters Rinne and Sakura. I cannot wait to see what the second season has in store for us.

79468

Sakamoto Desu Ga?

  • I started this show on a whim because I needed a good laugh that day and boy did I get one. I do find this show kind of stupidly funny but it is that kind of funny that I like the most. You do not need to worry about a complicated plot or too much drama because this show is just funny. That’s all. I mean it could develop a seriou plot line but for some reason I really doubt that. It is just an overall funny show that will be my guilty pleasure show for the season. I am really hoping that it keeps with the hilarious route because I feel like I am watching a lot of serious shows this season and this one seems like a good break from those shows.

And those are the shows that I am watching for the Spring 2016 Anime Season!! As usual I may drop some shows as the season goes on and I may pick up some others a well. I will let you know all about which ones I added, which ones I dropped, and what I thought about all of them in general in the Wrap-Up which will be out once the season is over. So be on the look-out for that!!

So what are you guys watching this season? Which ones were you looking forward to the most? Are there any shows that you think I should check out? Let me know down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

22 thoughts on “2016 Spring Anime

  1. hlmwilki May 1, 2016 / 4:04 PM

    I have of course already wrote an article on this already, but I just want to add a comment. 🙂
    Boku no hero academia is really the coolest anime I’ve seen, and never fails to excite me!
    Kabaneri is alright. It’s dark and grisly but honestly it’s only interesting to watch because of its unique story.
    I haven’t watched Joker Game and Flying Witches. I’m not really interested in Flying witches, and the setting of Joker Game put me off because I’m not sure what the point of the anime is. Like is there something interesting about spies in the 2nd world war?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan May 1, 2016 / 4:13 PM

      I completely understand not trying flying witch because right now I’m struggling with keeping up with it and it’s still early. As for Joker Game, I’m a history buff so watching the characters live through World War II is what really hooked me. The first two episodes were just about a military guy getting introduced to the spies and the third and forth just followed two of the spies, kind of, but the story isn’t really flowing from episode to episode. I hope it connects later on but right now I’m a little worried about where the story is actually going.

      Liked by 1 person

      • hlmwilki May 1, 2016 / 4:17 PM

        That’s kind of what I was worried about with Joker Game. I don’t think I could get invested into it when there isn’t a clear narrative line and if after 4 episodes it has not crystallised, I’m sorry to say it won’t be that thrilling. If you consider other anime like Erased or Boku no hero academia which are both 13 episode anime, each episode really should be interesting and not just saved for the last 5 episodes

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ka-chan May 1, 2016 / 4:31 PM

        I definitely agree! That’s why I liked the first two episodes because they were connected to one another and kept me interested. However just having those two connected and then a bunch of random ones does not make a good anime. It kind of upsets me thought because I feel like they could have done a lot more with Joker Game’s story but they choose to take this direction instead. I was really looking forward to it when it started too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex April 14, 2016 / 9:12 AM

    Even I was REALLY excited for Bungou Stray Dogs! I was so excited, I ended up reading the manga 😝
    Kiznaiver and Joker Game were amazing! I love both of them!
    I only watched Sakamoto because everyone was talking about it and I guess it will be a guilty pleasure show for me too.
    I haven’t watched Kabaneri of the iron fortress. I was planning to watch it originally but I had too many shows already and I wasn’t really interested in it so I didn’t watch it. Is it worth watching?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan April 14, 2016 / 12:10 PM

      It’s been good so far! I recommend it but I think you could also enjoy it if you wait until it’s completely finished.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alex April 14, 2016 / 12:28 PM

        Maybe I’ll give it a try!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. YahariBento April 14, 2016 / 8:31 AM

    I already watched and read Flying Witch so I agree with you the plot is kinda slow but before I watch it, another flying witch version made me have different comment.

    In Facebook, There’s “Flying Witch Petit” clip, short anime for promoting main series. So I watched.

    I watched this 2 minutes anime and Max Moe 3D punches sent me flying & knockout like that from this overwhelming power, their cuteness are too much for me.

    That’s why, after I recovered (from injury), I did anime review for respecting their level SS cuteness.

    warning: please prepare your body & soul before proceed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan April 14, 2016 / 12:11 PM

      Lol I’ll have to prepare myself and then give it a try.

      Like

    • Ka-chan April 13, 2016 / 10:29 PM

      Lol right my bad. I guess I was just more focused on the trains 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Magnitude Reviews April 13, 2016 / 6:46 PM

    Also Flying Witch is a slice of life series, so if you are expecting some fantasitcal adventure or story or action, then I wouldn’t keep your hopes up. Most SoL shows are more focused on characters, rather than it is on story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan April 13, 2016 / 10:26 PM

      It isn’t like I’m expecting the show to become some action packed show. I just felt like it was moving very slow. And you’re right most slice of life shows are more character focused, I guess that I just wanted the characters to do a little more. I’m not looking for something super exciting to happen.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. crimson613 April 13, 2016 / 1:51 PM

    we’re watching a lot of the same shows! 😀 have you watched the second episode of stray dogs? I just watched it and I was just out of my mind xD

    That scene in MHA was the one that got me the most too! It was so sad and I was just crushed ;_; I’m actually going to check out the manga @_@ I usually can’t stop myself (even if I wanted to which I usually don’t LOL)

    so THATS where the attack on trains is coming from! :0 I was told to check it out and since I’m a fan of AoT I’m definitely going to, and did you say zombie?! Oh my 🙂

    is Rinne by Rumiko Takahashi? The art looks so much like Inuyasha and I know she recently came out with a new(er) series? I’ve been meaning to check it out but not sure if I should yet

    Sakamoto was…so…werid…I’m hoping I keep up with it 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ka-chan April 13, 2016 / 4:49 PM

      I haven’t watch the second episode of Stray Dogs yet but I am actually just about to. Yes! The Kabune in Kabaneri are basically zombies! lol 😉 And Rinne is by Rumiko Takahashi which is why it looks like Inuyasha so much. Sakura Mamiya reminds me of Kagome physically sometimes and it kind of throws me off O_O. If you liked Inuyasha though I think that you will like Rinne!

      Like

Leave a Reply

