Spring 2016 Wrap-Up

My what a crazy month June has been. Life decided to take a very odd and busy turn and that resulted in me being almost too busy to do anything except breath. But that is not why I am here today. No, the Spring 2016 Anime Season has come to an end which means it is wrap-up time!! If you do not know what the wrap-ups are at the end of every anime season I tell you what I thought of the shows that I watched. There is a show that is continuing into the Summer 2016 season, so for that one I will tell you what I am thinking of it so far. There is also another show that had a different circumstance surrounding me watching it, but I will talk about that show when I get to that. So here is my wrap-up for the Spring 2016 Anime Season.Spring 2016 Wrap-Up

Boku no Hero Academia

I started this show on a recommendation without ever reading the manga or really knowing anything about the show. I had no idea what I was going to think of Boku no Hero when the season ended. So what did I think? I absolutely loved it! Going in I thought it would just be a show I sat through because it looked good, but it ended up being probably one of my top two shows of the whole season. Deku had me hooked on episode one and as the season went one I just kept loving it more and more. I love all of the characters, even Bakugo. Okay, especially Bakugo. Anyway, the ending was kind of awful for giving us a “wait for season 2” ending, but at least we know we are for sure getting a season 2 and I cannot wait for it. I wish we had it right now!

Bungou Stray Dogs

The show that I was the most excited about, and for me it did not disappoint. Sure, I may not have understood all of the references to the famous Japanese authors that the characters are named after, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. The show could be serious and funny without making it feel too forced. Bungou also had a few smaller plots throughout the show instead of one major one at the end. I mean there still one major one but it was nice that it did not feel like we had to wait twelve episodes for something exciting to happen. It was very similar to Noragami that way, and I did love it just as much. My inner book nerd did get to me at the introduction of Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald with the ability The Great Gatsby who goes around calling everybody “old sport”. Oh! And he’s voiced by Takahiro Sakurai. Bad guy or not, I screamed internally for like ten minutes. Anyway, I did really enjoy this show and am super excited for season 2 this fall.

Flying Witch

In my first post about this season I mentioned that I thought this show was slow and hoped that it would pick up. Now that I have watched the whole thing though, I am happy that it did not. This show was cute and calm and not having a lot going for it was a nice treat every Saturday after I watched Kiznaiver and Kyoukai no Rinne. It had it’s funny moments that came purely from the characters and their situations, and none of it felt forced or out of place. The characters were fun and loveable and I am really going to miss watching them. I may go check out that manga to see what the rest of Flying Witch’s story has to offer. This show may not be for everyone but if you need a peaceful anime to help calm you down, I would watch this one.

Joker Game

How can a show give you two episodes of introduction, through you into one episode stories, but still make you cry when a character dies that you have only spent an episode or so with? Honestly I have no idea, but that was what Joker Game did. This show was definitely not what I thought it was going to be. Almost every episode was based on a different member of the spy agency. It was nice that each character got an episode focused on them, but I had such a hard time remembering the character’s names that I found myself calling them by either their voice actor or a character their voice actor also played. I just wish that maybe we would have gotten to know each of them better together before they were separated. It would also be nice to know that not only does the story jump around, but the only major plot that connects each of the stories is that they are Japanese spies during World War II, or surrounding years, and they are basically all over the place. Despite it’s flaws, I did enjoy this show. Why? Not really sure. I do enjoy history so maybe that plays a part, but having separate stories for each episode was also kind of nice because you did not really have to remember what happened previously to watch the next episode. I may have to rewatch this show since it has finished airing and then maybe I will find something I missed. I did like this show though.

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

There were things that this show did well. The actions scenes were good and I thought that they did a good job to building up the tension of a situation of the importance of the Kotetsujo moving forward. There were also some things that the show did not do so well. Like that episode where it tried to be cute and have them go to a festival. Yeah, maybe they should have stuck to the serious side of things. Also, the ending was….not bad but it was an awful ending. It just kind of stops. The train keeps going….and that’s it. The show ended. It did not live up to the “Attack on Trains” show that I think a lot of people thought it was going to be, but I do not think it was a bad show either. The characters were good (Kurusu was my favorite) and the villain that was introduced I actually thought was a good idea. I also liked the idea of the Kabane and people traveling on trains or living in large cities. It definitely did not go the route I thought it was going to go, but the show was pretty good and I would recommend it for people to at least give a try.

Kiznaiver

I was excited for this show. It looked good. There were a bunch of characters that I really wanted to learn more about, and an opening that I have played on my iPod constantly. I was really torn as to how I felt about this show both as I watched it and now as I write this. Chihiro was a character that I really connected to on an emotional level, and I was really excited early on in the show. The whole concept of connecting people through pain is a good idea. My major problem with the show though was that really odd love pentagon they through into the whole thing. To me it was super painful to see a character that I really connected to and saw myself in, Chihiro, be put through so much pain for the second half of the show. It was a little hard for me to watch in all honesty, and I had this awful feeling in both my stomach and chest when I watched it that I am still unsure if it was good or bad. The show had such good premise, animation, and characters but for me it was the enjoyment factor that was really low. It is another one of those shows that I recommend people try, but honestly it was not one of those absolutely amazing shows because my enjoyment was just so low. I think I will have to do another post about it later because there is a lot that I have to say and we still have a few shows to go yet. It is a post for another day.

Kyoukai no Rinne 2nd Season

This is the one show that I watched this season that is going to continue on to the Summer Season. So far I am really enjoying this season, just like I did the first. I am happy that instead of trying to drag out short stories to last a whole episode they are having multiple stories per episode, which I think fits better for a very comedy focused show like this one. As I said, I do not want to give a final verdict of Rinne because it has not finished yet so you will have to wait until the Summer 2016 wrap-up to see what I thought of the whole season.

Sakamoto Desu ga?

This show was the special case that I mentioned at the beginning. I watched the first episode and really enjoyed it. However, life got a little hectic in April and May so I planned on catching up once I finished school for the semester. Then June came along and was a lot busier than I thought it would be. Unfortunately, this show suffered and I was not able to catch up with it. I do not want to say that I dropped it though, it is just on hold for now. I will probably give it a full review later to make up for not finishing it. The show really did look promising and now that I have some free time I plan on finishing it.

That was what I thought of all of the shows that I watched in the Spring 2016 Anime Season. I did not pick up any shows this season, sort of. I did start Sailor Moon Crystal this season but I started watching it from the beginning so I just decided not to include it on this list. That will also be a post for another day. Back to this season!! I am sad that the season has come to an end, but it is nice to know that there will be more seasons of my favorite shows to come. Overall, the 2016 Spring Anime Season was nothing spectacular, but it did give me some shows that I enjoyed more than I thought I would and will recommend for a long time.

That is all that I have for this time!! What do you guys think? What shows did you watch and what did you think of them? Which ones did you finish, pick up, or drop altogether? Let me know down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

10 thoughts on “Spring 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Rithika July 2, 2016 / 9:02 PM

    I loved Bungou Stray Dogs and BnHA to bits! I also blindly watched Boku no Hero Academia and I fell in love with it so much I ended up reading the manga 😛 Kiznaiver was okay but I didn’t like Joker Game at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 2, 2016 / 9:31 PM

      I’m definitely going to have to go read the Boku no Hero Academia manga to hold myself over until this second season comes around 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rithika July 3, 2016 / 12:47 AM

        I can’t wait for the second season!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. falahime July 1, 2016 / 9:30 PM

    I also love Bakugo; I’ve seen so many people hating on him and I often wonder, “Am I the only one who finds Bakugo relatable? Should I keep this to myself?” And I totally agree about Joker Game–I was thinking as I was writing my own post that I might have to rewatch it and see what I missed. Maybe it’ll be easier to keep track of who’s who the second time around? I started Kiznaiver and just didn’t care enough to keep up with it. Since the finale I’ve seen a lot of people talking about how great it was but I still don’t feel like going back to it. So there are our match-ups. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 2, 2016 / 12:34 AM

      We did match up on quite a few things! I’m happy to find another Bakugo lover as well. I really don’t think he deserves all of that hate.

      Like

  3. Karandi July 1, 2016 / 9:00 PM

    Great wrap up. I am finding now that shows have ended that there are a number that I was enjoying more than I realised while watching.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rocco B July 1, 2016 / 6:11 PM

    I enjoyed Kabaneri, the art is pretty good, it did drop here and there, especially the eyes. I guess it rode off in to the sunset (quite literally). Follows the same premises as AoT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 2, 2016 / 12:37 AM

      Now that you mention it the eyes did look kind of weird at times! I hope that it is not like Attack on Titan that it tells us there will be a second season but then keep pushing it back.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wren July 1, 2016 / 4:48 PM

    I think Kiznaiver is such a good show. I love it. It was really emotional.
    And I also dropped Sakamoto. Haha. I watched one episode and didn’t like its style. Oh well.
    And I dropped Joker Game. It seemed disconnected to me. Too many characters with only an episode or so. I wanted a more holistic story. Oh well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

