2016 Summer Anime

The start of July brings the first week of the Summer 2016 Anime Season. At this point in time some anime have already started airing, while we still have some time until some other ones air. Nevertheless, I wanted to go ahead and share with you guys the shows that I am already watching as well as the ones that I plan to watch as soon as they air. The Summer 2016 Season has a few shows that I am SUPER excited about and cannot wait to watch. In this post I will let you know why I chose to watch the shows, or am planning to watch them. This list is not set in stone, I could add or drop shows as I go. I will let you know if I do pick up or drop shows as well as what I thought of all of these shows in the wrap-up that will come at the end of the season. With that out of the way, let’s get started.Summer 2016

80515

91 Days

  • Historical show about the mob and prohibition set in the U.S.? Sign me up! The historical factor is definitely what brought me to this show, but the first episode really made me solidify that I wanted to watch this show. It sets up just the right amount of tenseness in whatever is going on as well as showing you what is motivating our main character to do what he does, although we still do not really know what it may be. It does look promising and I hope that it continues to do what it did in the first episode, because I am hooked. I did say last season that the reason I watched Joker Game was because of the historical aspect but this show does not look like it will suffer from the same problem Joker Game has. 

79158Battery

  • This is the one show that I am still waiting to start airing so that I can watch it. It is an anime about baseball and looks very promising to me so I cannot wait to start watching it. I do hae to say though that one of the major reasons I am checking out this show is because of my previous experience with anime about baseball, so we will have to see how it goes. I am trying to keep an open mind though because I should not compare it to other shows, but I know I will end up doing it anyway. Since I have not see it I really do not have a lot I can say so I will talk about this show more in the wrap-up at the end of the season.

Cheer Danshi!! (Cheer Boys!!)80360

  • When I heard about a show about an all boys cheer leading team a part of me said “Oh I got to see this”. This is what really motivated me to check out this show. When I started watching the first episode I was not really sure if I was going to watch it because towards the beginning. Then it added in just the right amount of character backstory and comedy that it became so precious I was mad at myself for ever considering not continuing it. There are characters that are so genuinely funny it makes my day, but I feel like this show could go a lot of ways in the story department and still have a good result. I really cannot wait to see what is in store for these boys.

Days80690

  • Another sports anime! This one is an anime that focuses on soccer, set at a school that is well known for their soccer team. Our main character, Tsukushi, is bad at soccer, so far, but he is so motivated to get better and try his best that you cannot help but root for him. I cannot wait to see how Tsukushi grows as a soccer player and the team as a whole continues. So far we do not really know a lot about the other members of the team. Having played soccer this show has already brought back some nostalgia from my soccer years, and I cannot wait to see what this show will have in store.

Handa-kun80752

  • One of the two anime that I was super excited about this season. I fell in love with Barakamon not too long ago and when I heard that they were making the comedic prequel an anime I was super excited. It may not be the kind of laid back atmosphere that the original anime was but there is something just as equally entertaining in Handa-kun that I cannot wait to see. Not to mention the first episode was absolutely hilarious. I could watch it over and over and probably still laugh. I have not read the manga yet but I really cannot wait to see what this show has in store. Plus I love Sei!!

Orange80110

  • The second anime that I was looking forward to this season. I read the manga back when it was still being released and absolutely fell in love with the story. This is also a manga that has made me cry like a baby so I imagine the anime will probably made me do the same thing. I am super excited though to see this story as an anime and cannot wait to watch it as it airs. The characters are so much fun plus the story is really interesting to me, so I really cannot wait. I know that I know how the anime is probably going to end but I still cannot wait to watch it.

ReLIFE80389

  • ReLIFE is kind of a special case because all the episodes are already out, even though it is a part of the Summer 2016 Season. At the time of this post I am on episode 6, halfway through, and am absolutely in love with the story. It has some serious situations but also some comedic moments that had me laughing. I love this show, even though I just decided to try it on a whim. I may end of doing an anime review of this show rather than having it in the wrap up considering that it has already finished airing. We will see. I do recommend it if you have not tried it!

So those are all of the shows that have already started airing and I have already tried out, as well as Battery which has a few days until it starts airing, for the Summer 2016 Anime Season. I am watching as well as continuing Kyoukai no Rinne that carried over from the Spring 2016 Anime Season. I also started watching Hatsukoi Monster because I read the manga a while ago and vaguely remembered it, but thought that I overall enjoyed it. I started the first episode and….well….it was not exactly my cup of tea. It was actually super weird and strange and the main character is dating a 10 year old, so I do not really know I if I will continue it or not. As of now I am not really planning on it.

As I mentioned earlier this list of shows are not set in stone. I may add some as the season goes on, or I may drop some. There are a few shows that I am considering starting but am still unsure if I will or not. I will let you know all of that goodness in the Wrap-Up at the end of this season. Make sure you are on the look-out for that!!

So what about all of you? What are you watching in the Summer 2016 Season? Which ones are you the most excited about? Any recommendations? Let me know down in the comments below!!

See you next time!!

10 thoughts on “2016 Summer Anime

  1. falahime July 17, 2016 / 11:05 AM

    I’m always reassured to read your posts and know someone out there shares my love of boys playing sports and men in snappy suits.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 17, 2016 / 11:13 AM

      Same! It’s always good to know you aren’t the only one who is a sucker for suits and sports uniforms 🙂

      Like

  2. Dominic Cuthbert July 10, 2016 / 1:25 PM

    We seem to be on the same wavelength here ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 10, 2016 / 11:36 PM

      Great minds think alike :). Or pick the same anime in this case lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Magnitude Reviews July 9, 2016 / 10:48 PM

    I recommend you try watching Amanchu, Mob Psycho 100, Sweetness & Lightning, and Tales of Zestiria the X

    Liked by 1 person

      • Magnitude Reviews July 9, 2016 / 11:31 PM

        Oh yeah, Thunderbolt Fantasy is something else that needs to be given a chance. Not an anime but it is written by Urobuchi and has Sawano music. It is such a work of art is it’s own unique way that I cant describe.

        Like

  4. Wren July 9, 2016 / 9:31 PM

    Ooh. Battery. I wanted to see it. But I just had so many OTHER anime. (Orange. ReLIFE. 91 Days. Mob Psycho 100. Morose Monokean.. the list goes on) But I might see it now. Sounds interesting.
    But Orange…ah the first episode. I kinda know what’ll happen even though I HAVEN’T read the manga. You can kinda tell with these things. And I almost cried the first episode because I was getting flashbacks of the saddest anime ever (In my opinion) ‘Your Lie in April’.
    But I’m excited for this season

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 9, 2016 / 9:48 PM

      I still haven’t finished Your Lie in April but I do get the same feel when watching both shows. The feels are definitely coming!

      Like

  5. Karandi July 9, 2016 / 3:44 PM

    Other than Handa-kun (which I haven’t seen) and Battery, I liked all of the anime you’ve listed (or at least their first episodes). Looking forward to seeing more this season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

