ERASED Review

Welcome back to Day 8 of Anniversary Review Week, and unfortunately today is the last day. While I am sad to see this week come to an end, it ended up being more successful than I had ever imagined. Thank you to everyone who came back everyday to read the reviews, as well as those who joined the party as the week went by. I am already looking forward to what next year will bring. But today is not over yet, and neither is Anniversary Month and there is still more to come.

Today I bring you an anime review for a show that I really enjoyed, but did have its flaws. It is a show that I had not chose to watch back in the Winter 2016 Anime Season but I had heard so much about it that I picked it up five weeks in. It is one of my favorite shows to have come out this year so far.

Without further adieu, here is my 36th Anime Review and Day 8 of Anniversary Review Week. The review for an anime that people have either come to love or hate: ERASED.

77957

ERASED, or Boku dake ga Inai Machi (The Town Where Only I am Missing), is an anime based off of the same name that released eight volumes from June 2012 to March 2016. The anime premiered in January 2016 as a part of the Winter 2016 Anime Season. It ran for a total of 12 episodes before it finished airing in March 2016. A live-action film was also released in March of 2016. There is also a light novel titled “Boku Dake ga Inai Machi: Another Record” that released one volume, and a spin-off manga titled “Boku Dake ga Inai Machi: Re” which started releasing chapter in June 2016.

The story of ERASED is of 29-year-old Satoru Fujinuma who is struggling through life as a struggling mangaka and working as a pizza delivery man. Satoru is special however because he experiences a mysterious phenomenon he calls “Revival”. In times of tragedy, Satoru is suddenly able to go back in time several minutes and has been able to save many lives doing so.  He lives a somewhat peaceful life when his mother is suddenly ki

lled and he is framed for her murder. The event causes Satoru to go back 18 years into the past (1988 actually) and is in the body of his younger self. He realizes that his mother’s murder may actually be connected the abduction and murder of three children from his neighborhood which occurred in his childhood. Satoru then decides that he is going to save them and make things write. The story then follows Satoru as he works to save the lives of his classmates in the past, which may end up saving those that he cares about in the future.
bokumachi_001
Now on to the characters. Satoru starts out kind of unlikable and boring. The first episode presents him as this struggling guy who really has nothing going for him except this whole revival thing. He has no communication with his childhood friends and he just kind of ignores his mother when she comes to visit. As the show goes on, however, he begins to care for those who are close to him and become motivated to fix things 18 years ago. He really grew on me as the episodes went on, and his constant reminding himself that he’s “29 Years Old” when in the past was funny to me. The rest of the characters are kind of divided into the characters from the past and the characters from the present. The only overlap being Satoru and his mother being present in both stories. Early on in the show it jumps back and forth between the two points in time which can be a little confusing when you are focused on trying to remember who the characters are. Later in the show it focuses more on the past so it was easier to remember Satoru’s friends’ names and develop each of them a little bit. The unfortunate part though is that other than Satoru and maybe Kayo (the girl he spends the most time trying to save), the other characters are not really too developed. We learn Kenya is the smart one and Yashiro appears to be caring but may not be all he appears, but the characters are not really developed much past he initial layer. Some are a little more developed than the others but there are some characters that were almost just characterized as “Satoru’s friend. 10-11 years old”. Which is sad because those characters that we did get to know a little better were the ones that I loved. I felt weird for loving Kenya as much as I did because he is….well….10, but he was very supportive of Satoru and was willing to help him as much as he could. I loved him as a supporting character.

The soundtrack for ERASED was okay. The only songs I really recall and enjoyed were the opening and ending, but boy did I love them. The opening song, “Re:Re” by Asian Kung-Fu Generation, was so good. I love Asian Kung-Fu Generation and I really loved this song as well. It earned a spot on my iPod very quickly. The ending, “Sore wa Chiisana Hikari no Youna” by Sayuri, was very good as well and the song fit the show very well.

It was animated by A-1 Pictures which has done shows like Ao no ExorcistAldnoah.Zero, and Your Lie in April. It has produced some pretty well animated show, to which ERASED is no exception. The animation was nice and the accent of certain colors to signify something bad (or good) was going to happen was really cool in my opinion. It also did this thing where when we were in the past the picture was framed like it was in wide-screen so that we would know that we were no longer in the present. I thought that this was really cool and gave it an extra touch that I really enjoyed. Another touch was that in the last few episode it changed up the openings a little bit and I found that really cool. The animation was really solid and pretty to watch, which definitely made it so much more enjoyable.

Now today was not an easy show to rate. While I really did love it as a whole, there were still something that I thought could have been done better. In the end I award ERASED with a B. This show was not perfect but it did cover topics like murder and child abuse that I thought was really daring. It may be listed as a mystery show, but it is pretty easy to figure out who the bad guy really is early on in the show. Although, I must admit that while I figured it out early I denied it because I thought it would be awful if I was right. I really did enjoy this show despite its flaws and it kept me hooked to keep coming back each episode to find out what would happen next. Certain things were not explained as well as it could have been, and the way Satoru gained his power was never explained. It may not be perfect, but I think the show is worth a try. At least that way you can decide which side of the ERASED debate you are on.

That is all that I have for my 36th Anime Review and the final day of Anniversary Review Week!! Thank you all for making this week so great and helping me to celebrate the blog’s anniversary. I hope to see you again next year for another Anniversary Review Week. But I will be back before then so do not worry. Anyway, what do you guys think? What did you think of ERASED? Did you figure out who the killer was early on (try not to spoil who it is though)? Any other thoughts? Feel free to leave it down in the comments below!! And if there is an anime you think I should try out feel free to leave that down below as well!

See you next time!!

8 thoughts on “ERASED Review

  1. Arria Cross September 11, 2016 / 3:07 PM

    Hello Ka-chan,
    I’m always hearing about this anime. I’m waiting for the hype around it to die down a bit before I watch it, but of course I’ll definitely watch it soon. It seems that you have some mixed opinions about this series. Anyway, thanks a lot for submitting this post to my Fujinsei Blog Carnival. I appreciate it. Keep it up. Take care. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 11, 2016 / 10:49 PM

      Thank you for hosting it! I can’t wait until the next one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. HijackedCat July 23, 2016 / 12:23 PM

    Another show to add to my to watch list aaaaah (^_^;)
    I’ve heard a lot about it being a good series, and it sounds like it is a bit heavy in themes, which I like sometimes, it’s a pity it wasn’t as good as it could’ve been but sounds like it’s still a good one to see~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wren July 23, 2016 / 10:18 AM

    Erased was pretty good. As a mystery, not so much. But as a character development story for Satoru? Pretty good.
    Satoru had a lovely character development. I agree.
    And Kenya was ADORABLE. Who wouldn’t want to see him all grown up? Awww.
    The OP was AMAZING. A+ right there. And the animation for it was amazing. I loved how Mother’s Basement analyzed it. Pretty amazing.
    Definitely a good ending for this review week series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 23, 2016 / 1:40 PM

      Me too! I’m a huge fan of how Mother’s Basement and liked his Erased episodes. And I agree, it really is more focused on character development than the mystery aspect, which is why I enjoyed it.

      Like

  4. Karandi July 23, 2016 / 6:49 AM

    I really enjoyed Erased, except for most of the last episode. I think if the ending had been a little more solid I’d have absolutely loved the anime. I particularly loved the opening theme song as at first it seemed way too upbeat for the show but as you watched you realised it really just caught the main themes of the show and the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 23, 2016 / 1:38 PM

      It really did fit the themes of the show very well. And I agree about the last episode. It did fall a little flat but it was good overall.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

