Top 5 Male Supporting Anime Characters

So I have only done a few Top 5 lists so far but this is one I have been considering doing for a while. I have mentioned in previous posts that I love supporting, or background, characters sometimes more than I do the main characters. Throughout the years I have been watching anime, some side characters have truly captured my heart even when a bit overshadowed by the main cast. I know this is a Top 5 but I just cannot give them an actual rank. Just think of it of five of them that are all of equal value. I could probably make this list super long, so to save that I have limited it to only five and just some male characters. My favorite females list is for a different day.

Without further ado, here are my Top 5 Male Supporting Anime Characters

c231

I am defining a “Supporting Character” as a character that is not mentioned as a part of the main cast.

*SOME SPOILERS AHEAD*

5. Kariya Matou (Fate/Zero)

kariya-matou-fate-zero-8-83

I watched Fate/Zero on a whim back when it got its English dub and found that I really liked Kariya’s character the best out of all the other masters. He was throwing himself into the Holy Grail War, even though he had no magic abilities, so that the daughter of his dear friend would not have to go through it herself. And I mean let’s be real for a second, he chose to have those worms put into his body and that decision alone earns him some credit. You have to be a good person to be willing to go so far for a child that is not even blood related to you. He could just have easily sat back and done nothing. That decision alone made me love him even more. I really liked Kariya while watching Fate/Zero and really wish his side of the story could have ended better. He definitely drew the short end of the stick in the story department. 

4. Hanabusa Aido, Takuma Ichijo, Akatsuki Kain, & Senri Shiki (Vampire Knight)

hanabusa-aido-image-hanabusa-aido-36640888-337-500

Vampire Knight was the first manga I ever bought. However, as time went on I got more and more annoyed with Yuki as a main character, Kaname doing kind of whatever he wanted to do, and poor Zero always drawing the short end of the stick. This made me ask myself why in the world I decided to watch the anime adaption of a show I constantly hated on? What made me come back? The answer to the question, the Night Class. Aido, Ichijo, Kain, and Shiki were my saving grace in a series that seemed to torture me with every new chapter. I found myself buying more manga volumes and watching anime episodes not to see what the main trio was doing, but to catch a glimpse of the Night Class boys I held so dear. Originally, I was only going to put Ichijo on this list (because he is my favorite character in the entire series) however I could not pass up on mentioning the other three. Even though I disagree with the way the show ended, these four boys will always be some of my favorite anime/manga series supporting character ever. Also I kind of cheated because there is four of them but…oh well.

3. Tatsuya Ochiai (Shirobako)

12620For a character that only appears for a few brief moments in a series, especially after his official departure, Ochiai easily made his way onto this list. His departure from Musashino Animation upset me more than many other things in the series, but his brief appearances throughout the rest of the show always cheered me up. He would often just randomly appear when Aoi needed help or had a question. I also found myself always questioning if any of the Production Assistants in the show were actually doing anything, but I felt like Ochiai showed that he was dedicated to the anime and really wanted to get the job done. I really do not know any deeper purpose as to why I loved Ochiai so much. Maybe it is the red hair….maybe…I do not know but he easily became my favorite part of that show.

2. Touya (Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle)

touya

It seems like such a long time ago that I started watching Tsubasa Chronicle but even today Touya remains one of my favorite anime characters in general. Not only is he the King of Syaoran and Sakura’s home country, Clow, but he is also Sakura’s overly protective brother. He very obviously does not like Syaoran but at the same time knows that  The real Touya appears very few times in Tsubasa Chronicle, but many versions of him appear in the different worlds Syaoran and gang travel to. However, none of them compare to the always worrying Touya that sits back in Clow. He may be King but he could also kick some serious butt when he needed to. The only downside is that I wish we had gotten to see more of the real Touya instead of the alternate versions we got to see more often.

1. Chikara Ennoshita (Haikyuu!!)

hq2_17_0004

I have to admit that when I watched the first season of Haikyuu I could not remember the names of any of the second years besides Tanaka and Nishinoya. I felt bad but those three just did not get a lot of screen time to me. Not to mention I was really confused since there was one named Kinoshita and another named Ennoshita. As a person who is bad with names, I had a hard time not only remembering their names but also keeping track of which one was which. Out of those three second years, however, Ennoshita was the only one I could truly identify by name. He got more time to shine in the second season, and he really stepped up to be there for his team after Daichi got hurt. Granted, it kind of upset him even more that he truly could not become a regular, but it did prove the Ennoshita is ready to become the next Captain of Karasuno after the third years graduated. As much as a I dread that day from coming. I do love Ennoshita though, and I wish he would get a lot more screen time than he actually does. Also he’s super relateable I mean come on.

YES!.jpg
TRUTH

And those are my Top 5 (sorta) Male Anime Characters. I have a much longer list but this is what I got after narrowing it down. This post has been sitting in my drafts for quite a while and was almost done but I kept forgetting to finish it. Whoops. Anyway, I hope that you all enjoyed this kind of random Top 5 list.

That is all that I have for this time! What about you guys? Which supporting/background/not-main-cast male anime character is your favorite? What makes you like them so much? Or do you not have a real reason other than they are just like them? Any other comments, let me know down below! And as always if you have an anime (or anything even somewhat related) that you think  I should check out you can leave that down below as well!

See you next time!!

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Male Supporting Anime Characters

  1. katrinasade September 24, 2016 / 3:20 PM

    I agree with Vampire Knight 100% I liked it a lot in the beginning but as time went on those three began to drive me crazy and I couldn’t take it anymore! I never did finish the series but I did love those Night Class boys… Wish they had a series to themselves! Your Ennoshita was a good choice too. He’s def relatable. Even though I simply dread graduation day I do think Ennoshita will be a good captain. I also think he will eventually realize that he can’t be a captain like Daichi but that’s a good thing! He will be a great captain in his own way. Prime example is when he stops the coach from yelling at Yamaguchi after he doesn’t do a float serve. Daichi can’t relate to Yamaguchi but Ennoshita can ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 25, 2016 / 10:25 PM

      I definitely agree with what you said about Ennoshita! Saying I will cry when the 3rd years graduate is an understatement. But like you said I think the team is in good hands because Ennoshita has proven that he can be a good captain in his own way. I really hope the series goes that far because watching him develop after becoming the official would be a really good character arc for him

      Liked by 1 person

      • katrinasade September 26, 2016 / 1:21 AM

        I don’t want Haikyu to ever end lol I want to follow them throughout hs and then have a spinoff where we see their college years lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ka-chan September 26, 2016 / 6:38 PM

        ME TOO!! It can just keep going on forever and ever and it’ll be wonderful!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. falahime September 9, 2016 / 9:25 AM

    This is barely topical but OMG Vampire Knight. I loved that manga (and anime) in the beginning but eventually…I couldn’t take it anymore. I kind of wish I’d finished it but the main characters made continuing the story a struggle. I liked Zero (even if he can be kinda emo) but Yuki and Kaname were just annoying and exasperating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 9, 2016 / 9:34 AM

      That’s is exactly how I felt! It made it so hard to continue the series when I could not stand 2/3 of the main trio!

      Like

  3. HijackedCat September 8, 2016 / 9:14 AM

    OMG, YAS, that about Ennoshita is so true! I’d do the same tbh, like no, not here to hear someone random asshat scream and drag you out. Gimme that ice-cream and sleep pls bwahaha.
    Real great list, I loved reading it <333

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 8, 2016 / 2:09 PM

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! 😊

      Like

  4. Dominic Cuthbert September 7, 2016 / 11:36 AM

    Yay, Chikara!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karandi September 7, 2016 / 3:17 AM

    That’s such a great list. I wouldn’t have thought of the vampires from Vampire Knight but they work really well to supportthe lead. I’d probably have gone with Chad from Bleach.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 7, 2016 / 9:17 AM

      Chad is a good one too! Bleach also had a whole bunch of good supporting characters

      Liked by 1 person

  6. mirrorpurple September 7, 2016 / 12:23 AM

    Im surprised Youhei wasnt in the list, he made damn lot of sacrifices as a supporting character.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 7, 2016 / 9:17 AM

      I really debated outing Youhei on here because he is probably one of my favorite characters from that show. To me he had a much larger influence in his show than these characters do. To me he felt more like a main character even if he wasn’t supposed to be one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mirrorpurple September 7, 2016 / 9:18 AM

        So he was the “chosen” supporting character… He was supposed to exceed his responsibilities as a supporting character???

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ka-chan September 7, 2016 / 10:09 AM

        I’m not saying he was supposed to I just felt like he did.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ka-chan September 7, 2016 / 10:16 AM

        You’re right! You’re right! He is what every supporting male character should aspire to be!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan September 6, 2016 / 10:55 PM

      Me too! They really made that entire series for me since I always seemed to be aggravated with the main trio

      Like

Leave a Reply

