Summer 2016 Wrap-Up

Man the end of this season really snuck up on me before I knew it. One minute I was watching the seventh episode of Handa-kun and then BOOM all of a sudden it was week 12 and I was behind on so many episodes it was not funny. It also did not help that I had some friends come and stay at my apartment the last weekend of the season and I got super behind on shows, but me rambling is not why we are here today. We are here because even though it snuck up on me, the Summer 2016 Anime Season has come to an end. And let me just say that I cried a whole lot more than I thought I would. For those of you who may not know, the wrap-ups are kind of like mini reviews of my thoughts on what I had of the show. This season there are a few exceptions to the usual pattern of the mini reviews. The first is the matter of ReLIFE, the only reason there is an exception for ReLIFE is because it was released all in one go for a certain lucky few of us and I wrote a full Anime Review. There will be a link in the ReLIFE section for you all to go and check it out if you have not done so already. The second is actually a common thing which is that one of the shows I watched is not over yet so I will just let you know what I think of it so far! Sound good?

Without further adieu, here is my Wrap-Up for the Summer 2016 Anime Season!

 

Summer 2016 Wrap-Up.png
I forgot Kyoukai no Rinne in this picture. Haha. Whoops.

91 Days

OH MY GOD THIS SHOW!! So when it comes to a story of revenge I immediately go to a sign that hung up on the wall of my high school agriculture teacher’s room. It said “When you leave for the journey of revenge, dig two graves.” And while it seems like that is not true in some cases, for the most part revenge stories do not go well. Someone always gets hurt in one way or another. 91 Days was no exception. But do not get me wrong, that is not necessarily a bad thing. It was also very much a show about gangsters in the 1920s and I think it portrayed that very well. Good things did not always happen, but that’s how life was then. Avilio was a great main character, although kind of vague on how he was going to achieve his goal of revenge. This show made me cry almost from the get go. If you are into historical anime and/or gangsters in US in the 1920s I would definitely give this show a try. While not an over the top show, it gets the job done and was a very good show overall.

Battery

I went from being super excited about this show to almost forgetting about it from week to week. It is one of those shows that I could probably binge watch but nothing really kept me hooked going from week to week. I give the story points for covering difficult subjects like harassment in a team and other issues, but the story brought it on so quickly it was almost like I had whiplash. Also Takumi is a brat. I’ll just go and say it. His constant back talk to everyone ranging from his parents to even his teachers had me wanting to reach into the screen and slap him. I liked Go because he would stand up to Takumi, but then something would happen and he would go running back. Ugh. I really thought I would like this show but it really fell flat for me. I have not even completely finished the last four episodes because nothing hooked me into going back. I might have to sit down and binge watch the whole thing later, but for now I am done with this show.

Cheer Boys!!

Onto a show that exceeded my expectations. This show quickly reached in and grabbed at my heartstrings. The main three characters (Haru, Kazu, and Sho) all go through individual problems that they have to get over, and the thing I liked was you kind of gradually figured out what their problems were it was just a matter of them overcoming it. Another nice thing was that while it seemed the rest of the team did not really go through any development, the last episode spent a good amount of time explaining to you how the entire team has gone through some development over the course of the show. This show can also be funny as all heck and made me laugh multiple times each episode, whether something funny actually happened or I was just laughing at Sho’s very unique wardrobe. The show also had moments that made me cry and any show that can make me go through multiple emotions like that (not just sadness and happiness) makes it a good show in my book. It also choose not to show us their entire cheerleading routine until the very end so we did not have to watch it a hundred times and then get tired of it. It was a good show (even with that dumb kid with the headband) and I recommend it.

Days

Days is the one show that is continuing on into the Fall 2016 Season. So far it is a pretty good show that had the most nonchalant “Yeah we lost the match” scene ever. The voice cast of this show (the subject of a post I am currently working on) is actually very good as well so if you are not convinced just watch it to hear Daisuke Ono argue with Mamoru Miyano. It makes it a lot more entertaining than I thought it would be. It really took me back to my soccer days and I cannot wait to see what the rest of the season has in store.

Handa-kun

How do you follow up a great show like Barakamon? Why you make a spin-off comedy prequel that’s what you do. It was a really funny show in my opinion, and you did not have to watch Barakamon to understand what is going on. There are only three characters that appear in both shows, and since it’s a prequel they could pretty much do whatever they wanted to Sei’s character. I really enjoyed it, especially the few small nods to its predecessor, and it helped to liven up the mood after watching some of the more saddening shows on this list.

Kyoukai no Rinne Second Season

I actually liked the second season more than I did the first season. Towards the end of the first season it kind of got boring and I was not as interested in what was going on. This season had me hooked all the way through and just when I was getting upset that it was going to be over they ended the last episode with an announcement of Season 3 to premiere in Spring 2017. Yay! This show made me laugh, but at the same time had an episode that almost made me cry. Almost. I am super excited for Season 3 and cannot to see what else is in store.

Orange

SUWA IS BEST GUY. THE END.

But really can we talk about how amazing of a character Suwa is? Like please? I loved his character when I first read the manga, and the anime made me love him even more. Plus Suwa and Naho’s baby was adorable. I definitely would have loved more of the baby doing cute anime baby things. I knew I was going to cry watching this show, and I did. If you ignore those little, or not so little, animation mistakes the show did tell a really good story. There is also going to be a movie released in….November I think so I am going to be looking forward to that. Especially since it is supposed to be from Suwa’s point of view. Even if you watch it and find Naho a little oblivious and annoying, watch it for Suwa. Suwa makes everything better. It was an okay show overall but I really enjoyed the story that it told.

ReLIFE

Now for the special anime ReLIFE. Here is a link to the Anime Review that I wrote for it: https://kachananimereview.wordpress.com/2016/10/10/relife-review

In a shorter version I really liked this show a lot. I loved the characters and the overall story that the anime told. It is an anime that I highly recommend for a good slice-of-life with some genuinely good comedy thrown in as well.

And that is what I thought of the shows from this past Anime Season. No anime were added this season, but there are a few shows that I am probably going to add to my “To Watch List”. I got really busy with school which affected the free time I had to watch anime, so I was unable to add any shows. While I am sad this season has come to an end, I am really excited about this upcoming Fall 2016 season. Did someone say Haikyuu?! I ended up crying a lot during this Anime Season and thought some pretty good shows came out of this season. I recommend giving all of them, well except Battery a try.

So that is all that I have for this time! What do you guys think? Which shows did you like this season and which ones fell flat? Let me know down in the comments below!!

9 thoughts on “Summer 2016 Wrap-Up

    • Ka-chan November 28, 2016 / 11:26 PM

      Awesome! Thank you! I’ll get to it as soon as I can.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Matthew November 28, 2016 / 11:33 PM

        Awesome. Take your time. There’s no rush to this. 🙂

        Like

  1. Rocco B October 14, 2016 / 12:27 PM

    Even though I dropped orange on the first episode, even I thought Suwa is the best guy there. I’m currently enjoying days – since I’m a bit of a footie fan xDD. Good post Ka-chan :D.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wren (@TheReadingBird) October 7, 2016 / 10:10 PM

    Suwa is quite fantastic. And fall is here?!?! Whaattt. I’m so behind. I gotta work on my wrap-up too. Eek. But I didn’t watch Days or Cheer Boys. Maybe I should… I thought Cheer Boys would be boring. Not because of male cheerleaders but because I’m not a fan of sports anime (EXCEPT HAIKYUU) but…who knows? I might like it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan October 8, 2016 / 4:51 PM

      I know right it snuck up on me real fast lol. And Cheer Boys is a kind of slow show but it is pretty funny. But Haikyuu is definitely the best sports anime I’ve seen!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

