Let’s Talk About Reiner

Hello again everyone!! Now this post was inspired by a split second of thought that I had while watching an episode of Attack on Titan Season 2. Specifically episode 9. Now I do not want to go too into detail here because this post will contain spoilers for season 2. I debated just waiting another few weeks to put this post out but I’m super impatient so that is not going to happen. So if you want to listen to me ramble about Reiner for a little bit stick around.

Let’s Talk About Reiner’s Dissociative Identity Disorder

detail_reiner

*SPOILER WARNING*

Alright so let me just say that Attack on Titan Season 2 has been absolutely crazy so far. Like maybe the wait was worth it after all….maybe….we’ll have to see. Moving on! But something that I never saw coming was the revelation that Reiner was the Armored Titan and Bertholt was the Colossal Titan. I know what you’re thinking. “What Ka-chan how did you miss that? It was obvious. They look similar.” But that means nothing. Nothing! Remember back when people thought Sasuke and Sakura’s daughter Sarada was actually Karin’s daughter because they wore the same glasses. Remember? There were entire theories based around two people being related because they had similar glasses. If wearing similar clothes means you’re related to someone then I’m going to start dressing like the Queen of England so I can be a princess. Wow…a lot of anger just came out about that all of a sudden. My point is, excuse me if I do not believe every theory I read on the internet.

And before you say it, no I have not read the manga. I was waiting for season 2.

The point is, I was so mad when they revealed it. Before the, what I believe to be, funniest, most nonchalant plot twist in anime I was in total denial. Reiner and Bertholt have been some of my favorite characters in the show. Reiner’s like the big brother, who’s always got your back. He’s the guy you want to be on your football team if you’re the quarterback and don’t want to be tackled by the defense. Wait. Did I just reference football? Weird. But my point is that I could not believe that the character set up as this big strong big brother could ACTUALLY be the enemy trying to destroy humanity. I was convinced it was a lie. I mean Reiner got bit by that titan and he did not start to heal like Eren does when he gets his limbs cut off. However, apparently he can control it because after the big reveal sure enough he starts healing JUST. LIKE. EREN.

I was so mad I had to pause the episode.

65316

But today is not about the plot twist that took me by surprise. Okay, not all of it. The part that really got me was the moment in episode 9 when Reiner starts mumbling incoherently and I think a large majority of the audience was probably like “Dude’s gone crazy.” Which I did at first too. Nothing wrong with that. However, it was when it was revealed that Reiner was having lapses in memory and referring to himself as either a “warrior” and a “soldier” and something clicked in my head.

He’s got an alternate personality.

Now I’m not a psychologist and I have nothing close to a degree in psychology. The most I’ve done is taken 4 psychology classes at school that worked alongside my major. One of those classes happened to be Psychopathology which studies mental disorders, and was a class that I found very interesting. A disorder that we studied a lot happened to be Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) or what was used to be known, more commonly, as Multiple Personality Disorder. It is something caused when a person undergoes a large amount of stress (usually involving a pretty traumatizing event) which causes them to create an “alter” who may be able to deal with the situation. People with DID usually have about 6 alters.

I found this revelation about Reiner to actually be pretty interesting. A lot of people in AoT could be diagnosed with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder which is something that has been seen in DID patients as well. I appreciated that instead of just setting him up as an enemy spy who got behind enemy lines and has been deceiving his “comrades” they set it up so that the stress of his mission caused him to break mentally. An alter was created to help him deal with that stress, an alter that is a “soldier” instead of a “warrior” who is fighting with his friends to save humanity. He often does not remember what has happened after he goes into “warrior” mode so the Reiner we have gotten to know is a completely different person. It was especially interesting to me when they were standing up in the trees and notice the scouts coming after them and Reiner comments that the scouts are coming help them, when in all actuality they are coming to take Eren back and try to capture Reiner and Bertholt. It takes Bertholt reminding him who he really is to break him out of it and bring warrior Reiner back.

To me, this just all seemed really interesting because they could have just taken the easy way out and had Reiner not have DID. I mean if he really has it at all. There are quite a few diagnostic criteria to actually diagnose him that we simply don’t have enough information to do so. However, that does not fight that fact that I actually like what they are doing with Reiner’s character. He may be a bad guy, but it is not like it is not having an effect on him. Reiner was still close too his whole class of cadets and betraying them like this is hurting him, just like it is them. This is not an easy thing for him to do either and it makes me hate him a little less than I would have if they had taken the easy road with his character.

I still feel betrayed though.

Anyway that is all that I have to say about Reiner and my little rant today. I cannot believe that the season 2 we waited so long for is already almost over. And hardly any Levi but that’s a rant for a different day. I hope you all enjoyed the post and let me know what you think of Reiner or Attack on Titan Season 2 in general down below!

See you next time!!

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Reiner

  1. Grimsabr June 27, 2017 / 8:51 AM

    “when Reiner starts mumbling incoherently and I think a large majority of the audience was probably like β€œDude’s gone crazy.”” Yep. Checks out. Thats exactly how i reacted aswell! lol

    Like you, I really enjoy what they did with Rieners character, and Bertholdts too for the matter. They are cleary beside themselves with guilt and confusion that its caused Reiner to create an alter personality.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan June 28, 2017 / 5:58 PM

      lol so it wasn’t only me! I’m glad someone else reacted that way!
      And I did really enjoy! They could have easily cut corners and had them be ruthless and uncaring, but they didn’t. What they were doing was not easy for them and I thought that was such an interesting take on their characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 924COLLECTIVE June 15, 2017 / 8:41 AM

    Very insightful post!

    Look at contemporary entertainment, most singers & actors usually
    go by Stage Names (Pseudonyms) Katy Perry = Kathryn Hudson etc.
    Most of these entertainers are under considerable stress to be perfect
    & never really get “Down Time” An amazing film that deals with this
    issue is PERFECT BLUE, which I highly recommend to any anime fan!
    Shows the real truth & trappings behind contemporary “Pop” Culture.

    Keep up the fantastic work! All the best from Sunny Miami.

    Like

  3. heyitszel June 11, 2017 / 9:11 PM

    Ah! Omg this was a great post! πŸ™‚ Ah, I love AoT, and while I’m also disappointed in the 12 episodes after waiting almost 4 years for it. I’ve learned to live and let go, and just accept it. I would rather them create quality animation work over quantity. And even if they were to give us the 25 episodes, we would be kept waiting even longer for a good chunk of the manga’ story to develop. It’s a double edged sword, but I’d rather deal with the pacing of the anime than pacing of the manga.

    As for Reiner, as much as he’s the bad guy I do feel (sometimes) sorry for the guy. He’s gotten really confused with the side that came in to destroy humanity and the side that became friends with the cadets..which is why I’m glad you wrote about this. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anime_Girls_NYC June 11, 2017 / 4:49 PM

    I just don’t know how as a Titan person haha you can create chaos amongst humanity and act like nothing happen. My mind would have been taunting me. And I’m also upset that I waited 2 long years for them to put out 12 episodes. Like come on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan June 11, 2017 / 7:40 PM

      I agree. I’m upset that they are only giving us twelve episodes, we’ve waited so long that they should have given us at least 25, we’ve earned it. I know if I was one of the Titan shifters I would probably have turned myself in because the guilt would have killed me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

