Kaichou wa Maid-sama Review

25254We are now OVER halfway through Anniversary Review Week, and today we are looking at probably the first and second romance anime I ever really watched, and one who’s manga I followed religiously after I finished the series. Which is something I only do with shows that I really liked. This is also a show that, while labeled a romance anime, does not center the entire story on the romance between the two main characters. It is also a show that I was surprised when I found out how old it actually is, because it does not seem like it could possibly be that old. However, now that I think about it…I watched this show right after I got my first computer and that was a little over seven years ago, and the show came out seven years ago. Boy, now I feel old. I mean the show is not actually all that old, it just seems like there is no way it came out seven years ago.

Without further rambling, here is my 42nd Anime Review and Day 5 of Anniversary Review Week. A cute little show about a student council president who has a little secret: Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Kaichou wa Maid-sama, also known as Maid-sama or The Class President is a Maid, is a 26 episode anime that was animated by Sentai Filmworks. It started airing in April 2010 as a part of the Spring 2010 Anime Season. It finished airing in September 2010, and released two bonus episodes which brings Maid-sama‘s total to 28 episodes. It is based off the manga of the same name written by Hiro Fujiwara. It ran from December 2005 to September 2013, releasing a total of 18 volumes. Sentai also released an English dub of the anime.

Our story centers on Seika High School’s recently elected Student Council President Misaki Ayuzawa. Seika High School had only recently became a co-ed school, and Misaki is the first female Student Council President. She is known as the “Demon President” because of how hard she is on the boys and following all the rules, and she is not afraid to fight anyone who opposes her. While frightening to the misbehaving boys, she is doing it so the girls of Seika feel same and comfortable at school. But that is not all their is to Misaki. To help her single mom pay the pills, and take care of her sister, Misaki works part-time at a maid cafe. Something she does not want her classmates to know because she thinks it will ruin her reputation. Then one day Takumi Usui, the most popular boy at school, comes to the maid cafe. We then follow the high school hijinks of a Misaki trying to balance everything going on in her life, as well as dealing with the “perverted alien” Usui who could blow her cover at any moment. It is truly a funny show that usually was more funny than romantic, but it had its moments where the romance side shown through. 

kaichou-wa-maid-samaIn my opinion, Misaki is a great female lead. She is trying to do the best she can to help out not only her family, but the girls at her school (and the boys sometimes too). She is a no nonsense kind of girl, who is just trying to deal with Usui who she has suddenly formed a friendship with. She’s hardworking, stern, and caring which makes me love her as a person. And while she makes Usui seem bad, he is really just trying to be there whenever she needs him and get closer to her. He’s funny, with a very dry sense of humor, and you never have any idea what he could do next. Not to mention just how devoted her is to Misaki. I personally love Usui, and his relationship with Misaki really did blossom into something adorable. The other characters we get introduced to are Misaki’s family, the other workers at he cafe, fellow Student Council members, various classmates, and Misaki’s two close friends. Oh! And some students from different schools. They also have their own quirkly little thing in their character that made them stand out from one another. Sure, they are not fleshed out as I would have liked (that’s probably the one thing this show could improve on) but they did add to the comedic side of the show. The character cast was nothing new or exciting, but it was a cast of character that I grew to love more and more as the show went on.

Maid-sama was animated by Sentai Filmworks and while the show is pleasant to watch, the animation is nothing over the top or awe inspiring. The show is not bad, and had hardly any problems. It was just…average. The soundtrack was a little better. The show had one opening, “My Secret” by Saaya Mizuno, and two endings, “Yokan” and “Loop” both by Heidi. They were really good songs, the opening I found especially catchy, and they all made their way onto my iPod.

In the end, I award Kaichou wa Maid-sama with a B. It is a cute little show with some good characters and an interesting story. Misaki and Usui definitely make it worth a try. It is funny and cute and is one of my top shows to watch when I need a good laugh. It may not be perfect, but it is one of those shows that I still recommend trying if you like these kinds of shows.

That is all that I have for my 32nd Review and Day 5 of Anniversary Review Week! What do you guys think? Your opinion on the show? Who was your favorite character? Let me know down below!!

See you next time!!

Leave a Reply

