Brothers Conflict Review

51409My friends, we are reaching the end of Anniversary Review Week and today is Day 5. That means only two more reviews after today. I hope you have enjoyed this week so far, and will stick around for the next two days as well. There will still be more posts after this week is over too! Normally I choose anime that I really like to talk about during this week, but today I wanted to just kind of…rant about one. Not a big rant, just kind of looking at a show that…you know what let’s just get started and I will explain. Today is also the review for a harem anime, which is a type of anime that I have not really written about other than when I watched Diabolik Lovers a few years ago and then reviewed it. I hope you enjoy it.!

So here is Day 6 of Anniversary Review Week and my 43rd Anime Review. Today we are looking at a harem anime that as a little bit of a twist: Brothers Conflict.

Brothers Conflict, or BroCon, is a twelve episode anime that ran from July 2013 to September 2013 as a part of the Summer 2013 Anime Season. The show released one OVA right after the show’s conclusion, and then released two more OVA’s between December 2014 and February 2015. That brings the show to a total of 15 episodes. Brothers Conflict is based off a novel series of the same name written by Takeshi Mizuno and illustrated by Udajo, which was released from December 2010 to July 2012 totaling seven volumes. A second season of the novel series, “Brothers Conflict: Second Season” started releasing in January 2013 and has released 5 volumes so far. There is also a manga series, “Brothers Conflict Purupuru”, that ran from November 2012 to October 2013 and released 2 volumes. There have also been three otome games released: Brothers Conflict: Passion Pink in 2012, Brothers Conflict Brilliant Blue in 2013, and Brothers Conflict: Precious Baby in 2016. The show was done by the studio Brain’s Base. Coincidentally, like other shows reviewed this week it also received a dub from Funimation. I did not plan this at all I swear!

Brothers Conflict tells the story of Ema Hinata, also called Chi, who has been an only child her entire life. Her father, Rintaro, is an adventurer who spends a lot of time traveling, leaving her at home with her pet Juli (a talking squirrel). One day, Rintaro tells Ema he is getting married to a clothing designer, Miwa Asahina. Ema then moves in with her new step-brother and discoveres there is thirteen of them, all of whom develop romantic feelings for her over the course of the show. The story follows this newly formed, crazy family as they all learn to live together.

2013103002305700001414780000496817So our character cast in mainly the 13 Asahina brothers, Ema, and Juli. Which seems like a lot but we find out very little about many of them. We never find out why Ema can talk to Juli, or anything beyond their outside appearance for many of them. Sure there is the stuff Subaru goes through and the drama between Tsubaki and Azusa, but that is resolved somewhat quickly. There is simply too many brothers for them to have any depth to them, because introducing all of them took up a lot of the show. While researching into it, I found a lot of development for the brothers in the games that was not present in the anime. If they had moved that over to the anime, I think the brothers would have had actual personalities to them rather than just another Asahina to fall in love with Ema. They did, at least, have one thing about them that separated them from the others but usually it was a simple thing or job. There was the doctor, the one that dresses like a lady, the idol, the little one, and Subaru. Ema was not too much better. She spent most of her time being flirted with or talking to Juli, and while she did have a little bit of development towards the end of the anime. It was at the very end. Almost like they forgot about it and then were like “Oh crap we still have to cause some problems for our lead! Better do that real quick!”. Like what is causing all of these guys to fall in love with her? What am I missing? How am I supposed to relate to these character when there is little to try and relate to? How?

Brothers Conflict was animated by Brain’s Base, and the animation was pretty average. Sure, it was pretty sometimes, but nothing above and beyond what is already out there. As I said, nothing is BAD about the animation but it just…did not amaze me. It was just kind of…eh. The soundtrack was also okay. The opening, “BELOVEDxSURVIVAL” by Gero, was a super catchy song, but the animation was way too simply to fit the song. Most of it was stills of the characters as the camera moved around. Nothing that stood out. The ending theme, “14 to 1” by ASAHINA Bros.+JULI (also known as bascially the entire cast), was the same way. The song was catchy, if you look past them singing about their sister, and the animation was all the brothers singing and dancing. However, it too was nothing special.

I think my main problem with this show was the story and the little character development they had. First of all, THIS IS YOUR SISTER! I know, I know, they are not related. However, they all have the same last name AND their parents are married. How do 13 different people manage to fall in love with their sister. THIRTEEN! They also all fell in love with her at about the same time. Except Yusuke who had a crush on her before she was his sister, so he was not as bad. But still! I think maybe the show would have been better if it had followed more of the true otome route where each brother had time devoted to him and his story without the other brothers trying to get with Ema at the same time. Kind of like what Amnesia did. After Ema and a brother get together, the story resets and it goes to focus on a different brother. Then that causes problems because the show would have to be crazy long. However, that is the only thing I can think of that would allow this story to flow better. It is not the harem aspect either, harem anime do not really bother me, but they are her brothers which adds to the offsetting feelings I got from this show.

In the end I award Brothers Conflict with a D. I tried to give it a C, I tried to rely on some catchy music and the animation not being horrible to boost it up, but story is a huge part of an anime. When someone cannot get into the story, and you do not make your characters relatable the anime just cannot work. Now, saying that, I know that some people like this show. I do! And to each their own. But this show was just not anything special to me and I could not get into it. When I watched it the first time, it kind of became a guilty pleasure that I watched. Then I rewatched it for this review and had no idea what is was I liked about it in the first place.

That is all I have for my 43rd Anime Review and Day 6 of Anniversary Review week! What are your thoughts on the show? What things did you like/dislike? Which brother is your favorite, if you have one? Or what otome game or otome game based anime is your favorite? Let me know down in the comments!!

See you next time!!

5 thoughts on “Brothers Conflict Review

  1. Krystallina July 21, 2017 / 9:32 PM

    I think the worst part for me was the lack of reaction from Ema. Someone would make a pass at her, kiss her, or whatever, and she would just move one to be flirted with by the next brother. Game Ema had more personality, like being a major gamer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ka-chan July 22, 2017 / 12:12 AM

      Yes! That is one thing I forgot to mention! Like if my brothers were all flirting with me and kissing me I would not be like “oh okay whatever” and move on. I have not played the game but that does seem to give her more of a personality that I wish we could have seen.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Krystallina July 22, 2017 / 8:57 AM

        One of my favorite scenes is when Ema is playing a game with the triplets. She takes the lead (i.e. bossing them around), and they’re all kind of freaked out at how intense she is. Anime Ema would never do such a thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ka-chan July 22, 2017 / 11:02 AM

        No she wouldn’t. Dang now I want to play the game

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

